Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HWC Newsletter: November 2021: Home

Harold Washington College Library Newsletter * November 2021

Harold Washington College Library Newsletter * November 2021

November is Native American Heritage Month. Chicago was established on what was the land of numerous tribes including the Council of Three Fires—the Ojibwa (Anishinaabeg), Ottawa (Odawak) and Potawatomi (Bodéwadmik)—as well as the Miami (Myaamiaki), the Ho-Chunk (Hoocąk), the Menominee (Kiash Matchitiwuk), the Sauk (Asâkîwaki), and the Meskwaki (Meshkwahkîha) peoples.

In this month's newsletter, we highlight library resources related to the history and heritage of Native Americans. Visit the library in person or online for these and other resources. For additional information about local indigenous tribes, visit the American Library Association's Indigenous Tribes of Chicago. For educational resource including online exhibits and recorded symposiums, visit the website of the National Museum of the American Indian.

Chat Reference Hours

Librarians are available via chat Monday through Sunday from 8 am to 10 pm. The chat box feature will open on the lower right corner of any library page including the main CCC Libraries information page.

 

Screen capture of the CCC Libraries Homepage with links to the individual campus libraries.

 

On the HWC Library homepage, you can also chat with a librarian by clicking on the blue "Chat With A Librarian" button on the left side of the page.

Featured eBooks: Native American Heritage Month

Cover of There, There.
Cover of An Indigenous Peoples' History of the United States
Cover of You Who Enter Here
Cover of Sweet Grass
Cover of Mending Skins
Cover of Bleed Into Me.
Cover of Food Sovereignty
cover of Weweni

Featured Library Display: One Book, One Chicago

Photo of library display for Bedrock Faith by Eric Charles May

Visit our One Book, One Chicago display featuring the latest all-city read selection: Bedrock Faith by Eric Charles May. Pick up a library copy of the book or share your neighborhood love by telling us which Chicago neighborhood you hail from. 

Photo of library display for Bedrock Faith by Eric Charles May

Visit our One Book, One Chicago display featuring the latest all-city read selection: Bedrock Faith by Eric Charles May. Pick up a library copy of the book or share your neighborhood love by telling us which Chicago neighborhood you hail from. 

Photo of library display for Bedrock Faith by Eric Charles May

Visit our One Book, One Chicago display featuring the latest all-city read selection: Bedrock Faith by Eric Charles May. Pick up a library copy of the book or share your neighborhood love by telling us which Chicago neighborhood you hail from. 

Photo of library display for Bedrock Faith by Eric Charles May

Visit our One Book, One Chicago display featuring the latest all-city read selection: Bedrock Faith by Eric Charles May. Pick up a library copy of the book or share your neighborhood love by telling us which Chicago neighborhood you hail from. 

Photo of library display for Bedrock Faith by Eric Charles May

Visit our One Book, One Chicago display featuring the latest all-city read selection: Bedrock Faith by Eric Charles May. Pick up a library copy of the book or share your neighborhood love by telling us which Chicago neighborhood you hail from. 

Featured Video Collection

Academic Video Online (AVON), one of the HWC Library's new video streaming databases, offers access to thousands of videos from all areas of interest. This month, we're featuring PBS's "We Shall Remain", a five-episode series aired as part of The American Experience. Remember that to access remotely, you will need to log in with your CCC username (do not include the @student.ccc.edu part) and password. 

We Shall Remain: After the Mayflower

We Shall Remain: Tecumseh's Vision

We Shall Remain: Trail of Tears

We Shall Remain: Geronimo

We Shall Remain: Wounded Knee

Past Newsletters

Take a look at our previous newsletters for any information you might have missed.

Remote Classes in the Library - Fall 2021 Policy

In order to maintain a shared space that is conducive to quiet study, but that also accommodates the needs of students attending remote classes in the library, we ask that visitors read and follow the current policy for attending remote classes (classes on Zoom) while in the library space.

Library Request Forms

Schedule Library Instruction (for HWC faculty)

Schedule A Research Consultation (for all HWC community)

Suggest A Purchase (for all HWC community)

Request an Interlibrary Loan (for all HWC community)

Featured Database

The American Indian Experience is a digital resource that illuminates the histories and contemporary cultures of the Native peoples of North America. Remember that to access remotely, you will need to log in with your CCC username (do not include the @student.ccc.edu part) and password. 

Faculty Book Club: Relationship-Rich Education

Join the CCC Librarians on the second Friday of the month from 11am-12pm, as they host conversations about each chapter of Relationship-Rich Education: How Human Connections Drive Success in College by Peter Felten and Leo M. Lambert.  

Find the upcoming schedule here and watch for the registration link for next month's meeting in your CCC email. In the meantime, faculty can read Relationship-Rich Education for free using their CCC login credentials here

Featured Collection: Picture Books

Picture book collection banner with leaves and a book.

November is Picture Book Month and the perfect time to introduce our community to the library's small, but growing, collection of picture books. The HWC Library's picture book collection includes board books, concept books, wordless books, nonfiction and fiction and offers everything from classics to award-winners to popular titles with a focus on books that reflect the diversity of our community and that address contemporary topics and issues of social justice in a developmentally appropriate format. While the collection is designed to support the needs of students enrolled in child development and children's literature courses, we believe that picture books are for everyone. We invite you to take a break from your studies, and stop by the library to enjoy the magic of a picture book.

     

Contact Us

 Contact Us | 312-553-5760 | 30 E. Lake Street, 5th Floor | Chicago, IL 60601