Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HWC Newsletter: October 2021: Home

Harold Washington College Library Newsletter * October 2021

Harold Washington College Library Newsletter * October 2021

Photo of autumn leaves

As you head into midterms, don't forget that the library is your college resource for research assistance, to access course textbooks, to check out books for school or for leisure reading, for a quiet space to study, and much more. The library is located on the 5th floor of the College. Our hours of operation are Monday / Tuesday from 8AM to 8PM, Wednesday / Thursday from 8AM to 6PM, and Friday from 8AM to 4PM.

From the Archives

Photo of display case with obsolete library items and photographs of the library from the 1980s.

Visit the library and learn a little about our history through our current display of archival photographs and library items from years past.

Photo of display case with obsolete library items and photographs of the library from the 1980s.

Visit the library and learn a little about our history through our current display of archival photographs and library items from years past.

Photo of display case with obsolete library items and photographs of the library from the 1980s.

Visit the library and learn a little about our history through our current display of archival photographs and library items from years past.

Photo of display case with obsolete library items and photographs of the library from the 1980s.

Visit the library and learn a little about our history through our current display of archival photographs and library items from years past.

Photo of display case with obsolete library items and photographs of the library from the 1980s.

Visit the library and learn a little about our history through our current display of archival photographs and library items from years past.

Photo of display case with obsolete library items and photographs of the library from the 1980s.

Visit the library and learn a little about our history through our current display of archival photographs and library items from years past.

Photo of display case with obsolete library items and photographs of the library from the 1980s.

Visit the library and learn a little about our history through our current display of archival photographs and library items from years past.

Photo of display case with obsolete library items and photographs of the library from the 1980s.

Visit the library and learn a little about our history through our current display of archival photographs and library items from years past.

Chat Reference Hours

Librarians are available via chat Monday through Sunday from 8 am to 10 pm. The chat box feature will open on the lower right corner of any library page including the main CCC Libraries information page.

 

Screen capture of the CCC Libraries Homepage with links to the individual campus libraries.

 

On the HWC Library homepage, you can also chat with a librarian by clicking on the "Chat With A Librarian" button.

 

Screen capture of the HWC Library's homepage.

Current Book Displays in the Library

 

The library currently features displays on the book arts, Banned Books Week, spooky book recommendations for October, and newly acquired books. All books in display areas are available for checkout at the library's Circulation Desk with your City Colleges I.D.

 

Past Newsletters

Take a look at previous newsletters for any information you might have missed.

Remote Classes in the Library - Fall 2021 Policy

In order to maintain a shared space that is conducive to quiet study, but that also accommodates the needs of students attending remote classes in the library, we ask that visitors read and follow the current policy for attending remote classes (classes on Zoom) while in the library space.

Library Request Forms

Schedule Library Instruction (for HWC faculty)

Schedule A Research Consultation (for all HWC community)

Suggest A Purchase (for all HWC community)

Request an Interlibrary Loan (for all HWC community)

Featured Database

               Interface of Academic Video Online database.

Academic Video Online (AVON) is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary streaming video database that includes more than 70,000 titles in a wide range of disciplines. AVON includes documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, and demonstrations from companies PBS, BBC Worldwide, the Broadway Theatre Archive, and Sony Picture Classics. Remember that to access remotely, you will need to log in with your CCC username (do not include the @student.ccc.edu part) and password. 

Visit our new LibGuide for more information on video sources available through the library.

Classic Thrillers in Academic Video Online (AVON)

image of film strip

The Turn of the Screw

Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde

Murder at the Vicarage (Pt. 1)

Murder at the Vicarage (Pt. 2)

Frankenstein

Remember that to access library databases remotely, you will need to log in with your CCC username (do not include the @student.ccc.edu part) and password. 

Featured eBooks: Things That Go Bump In the Night

Cover of Mexican Gothic
Cover of Children of Chicago
Cover of Tales of Terror and Mystery
Cover of Dracula
Cover of Doll Bones
Cover of The Legend of Sleepy Hollow
Cover of The Complete Stories of Edgar Allan Poe

Faculty Book Club: Relationship-Rich Education

Join the CCC Librarians on the second Friday of the month from 11am-12pm, as they host conversations about each chapter of Relationship-Rich Education: How Human Connections Drive Success in College by Peter Felten and Leo M. Lambert.  

Keep an eye out for the registration link for next month's meeting in your CCC email. In the meantime, faculty can read Relationship-Rich Education for free using their CCC login credentials here

Contact Us

 Contact Us | 312-553-5760 | 30 E. Lake Street, 5th Floor | Chicago, IL 60601