Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HWC Newsletter: October 2022: Home

Harold Washington College Library Newsletter * October 2022

Harold Washington College Library Newsletter * October 2022

Things are getting spooky on the 5th floor this month. Midterms got you scared? Stop by the HWC Library for help with your research and a quiet space to work. Studying so hard you feel like a zombie? Take a break in the Library. We've got BOOks that go bump in the night and other resources and activities to help you relax and get you in the spirit of the season. Our Fall 2022 hours of operation are Monday - Thursday from 8AM to 8PM and Friday from 8AM to 4PM

New Website

The Library's website has a new look! Visit our homepage to access online resources and learn more about what the HWC Library can offer.

Chat Reference Hours

Librarians are available via chat during the fall semester. Chat hours are: Monday - Friday: 8:00 am-10 pm and Saturday - Sunday: 10 am-10 pm. The chat box feature will open on the lower right corner of any library page including the main CCC Libraries information page.

 

Screen capture of the CCC Libraries Homepage with links to the individual campus libraries.

 

On the HWC Library homepage, you can also chat with a librarian by clicking on the blue "Chat With A Librarian" button on the left side of the page.

Featured eBooks: Books That Go Bump in the Night

Current Library Displays

Dystopian Fiction

Vampire Stories

Edgar Allan Poe

One Book, One Chicago

This year’s One Book, One Chicago selection is Art Spiegelman’s The Complete Maus. In support of this year's theme, "Freedom to Read," Harold Washington College will offer programming throughout the year. On Thursday, November 17 at 12:30 pm in room 618,  Professor Rivera-Van Schagen of the English Department will host a discussion of Art Spiegelman’s The Complete Maus. Stay tuned for more events. You can check out a copy of Maus and pick up a bookmark and discussion guide in the Library.

Shelf Talker

In “Bloodchild,” a short story by Sci-Fi author Octavia Butler, humans are the aliens on a distant planet inhabited by the insect-like Tlics. The two species have evolved into a union where humans are surrogates for the Tlics’ larva. The arrangement can sometimes be extremely painful and gruesome for the humans. While the Tlics seem kind and caring of their human families, the humans have little choice in the arrangement. “Would you really rather die than bear my young,” one of the Tlics asks her young human host who questions the supposed symbiotic relationship. First published in 1984, “Bloodchild” is one of seven short stories in Bloodchild and Other Stories by Octavia E. Butler, 2nd edition, 2005. –Janet Harper, Librarian 

Research Consultations

If you are having trouble finding information for a research project or have other research-related questions and would like to meet one-on-one with a librarian, the Library offers research consultation appointments. Appointments can be in-person, via Zoom or by phone. You can make an appointment online. You will need to select a date and time and provide information about the assignment with which you need assistance. Once you submit your information, you will received a confirmation email. 

Library Request Forms

Schedule Library Instruction (for HWC faculty)

Schedule a Research Consultation (for all HWC community)

Suggest a Purchase (for all HWC community)

Request an Interlibrary Loan (for all HWC community)

Request a Video for Online Viewing (for HWC faculty)

Faculty Publications (for HWC faculty)

Featured Database: CARLI Digital Collections

The CARLI Digital Collections is a growing image and special collections research resource for faculty, staff, students, and the public. By combining digital collections from a number of CARLI member institutions into a seamless environment, researchers are guaranteed richer search results on a variety of topics. Researchers have access to more than 300 collections from colleges and universities in Illinois. The CARLI Digital Collections site is accessible from the Library's list of online databases. Remember that remote access to our online databases requires you to log in with your CCC username (do not include the @student.ccc.edu part) and password.

October StoryWalk

Stop by the Library between October 24 and October 31 and travel through a story in our inaugural StoryWalk®. The StoryWalk® is a project started in 2007 by by Anne Ferguson, a chronic-disease specialist working to get families to be more active. Traditionally used in public libraries, the StoryWalk® functions to promote both literacy and physical activity. The HWC Library's StoryWalk® will highlight a title from our picture book collection. The HWC Library's Picture Book Collection includes board books, concept books, wordless books, nonfiction and fiction and offers everything from classics to award-winners to popular titles with a focus on books that reflect the diversity of our community. While the collection is designed to support the needs of students enrolled in child development and children's literature courses, we believe that picture books are for everyone and the collection is available to all. Beginning at the entrance of the HWC Library, follow the path and experience Marissa Montes' award-winning Los Gatos Black on Halloween, a humorous bilingual Halloween adventure. Los Gatos Black on Halloween is one of the many books you'll find in the HWC Library's Picture Book Collection.

Pop-Up Library

  

This month we're popping up on the first floor of the College on Wednesday, October 5 at 10:00 AM and at the first-year experience Midterm Mixer on Tuesday, October 25 at 11:00 AM. Have a research assignment question? Need a book rec? Stop by and chat with some of the HWC librarians! 

Free Museum Days in October

We're on Instagram!

Connect with us on Instagram @hwc_library for news and information about resources, events, and more at the HWC Library.

Past Newsletters

Take a look at our previous newsletters for any information you might have missed.

Contact Us

 Contact Us | 312-553-5760 | 30 E. Lake Street, 5th Floor | Chicago, IL 60601