Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HWC Newsletter: September 2021: Home

Harold Washington College Library Newsletter * September 2021

Harold Washington College Library Newsletter * September 2021

The library on the 5th floor is open! Our Fall 2021 hours of operation are Monday / Tuesday from 8AM to 8PM, Wednesday / Thursday from 8AM to 6PM, and Friday from 8AM to 4PM. Visit us for research assistance, to access course textbooks, to check out books for school or for leisure reading, for a quiet space to study, and much more. If you plan to attend remote classes in the library, either using your own device or a library computer, please note that we have a current policy that outlines our requirements (more information is available below). Whether remote or in person, we wish you a successful and fulfilling semester and look forward to seeing you.

From the Archives

Photo of student reading in the library.

A student reads in the HWC Library at a periodical index carrel in 1988.

Chat Reference Hours

Librarians are available via chat Monday through Sunday from 10 am to 10 pm. The chat box feature will open on the lower right corner of any library page including the main CCC Libraries information page.

 

Screen capture of the CCC Libraries Homepage with links to the individual campus libraries.

 

On the HWC Library homepage, you can also chat with a librarian by clicking on the "Chat With A Librarian" button.

 

Screen capture of the HWC Library's homepage.

Featured eBooks: Hispanic / Latinx Heritage Month

Cover of Latino Heartland
Cover of I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter
Cover of Latino Americans
Cover of Afterlife
Cover of Finding Latinx
Cover of The Undocumented Americans
Cover of Once I Was You
Cover of Rows of Memory

Current Book Displays in the Library

The library currently features book displays for Hispanic Heritage Month, Series & Sequels (books that are part of series), and Banned Books Week, as well as newly acquired books. All books in display areas are available for checkout at the library's Circulation Desk with your City Colleges I.D.

Returning Library Books

Did you know that you can return any HWC Library book checked out this semester or in a previous semester and no late fine will be charged? Just return then at the circulation desk in the library or drop them in the library book return bin located next to the security desk on the first floor of the College.

Past Newsletters

Check out our previous newsletters for any information you might have missed.

Remote Classes in the Library - Fall 2021 Policy

In order to maintain a shared space that is conducive to quiet study, but that also accommodates the needs of students attending remote classes in the library, we ask that visitors read and follow the current policy for attending remote classes (classes on Zoom) while in the library space.

Library Request Forms

Schedule Library Instruction (for HWC faculty)

Schedule A Research Consultation (for all HWC community)

Suggest A Purchase (for all HWC community)

Request an Interlibrary Loan (for all HWC community)

Featured Database

Kanopy, a video streaming database that provides access to award winning films and documentaries, including titles from BBC, the Criterion Collection, Kino Lorber, and more, is the latest addition to the library's online databases. Some films in Kanopy need to be requested prior to access. The library will purchase films needed for classes whenever possible. Once a film is ordered, it is usually available in few days. Remember that to access remotely, you will need to log in with your CCC username (do not include the @student.ccc.edu part) and password. 

There will be an information session on Kanopy and other library resources for videos on Wednesday, September 29 from 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM and on Tuesday, October 5 from 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM. To register, please fill out this form.

To request titles for use in classes, please fill out this form

Faculty Book Club: Relationship-Rich Education

Join the CCC Librarians on the second Friday of the month from 11am-12pm, as they host conversations about each chapter of Relationship-Rich Education: How Human Connections Drive Success in College by Peter Felten and Leo M. Lambert.  

Keep an eye out for the registration link for next month's meeting in your CCC email. In the meantime, faculty can read Relationship-Rich Education for free using their CCC login credentials here

Featured Database

Flipster is one of the newest additions to the library's collection of online databases. Access popular magazines including Vogue, Time, The New Yorker, Sports Illustrated, and more. Download the Flipster app to access the CCC subscriptions from your phone or other device. Remember that to access remotely, you will need to log in with your CCC username (do not include the @student.ccc.edu part) and password.

Contact Us

 Contact Us | 312-553-5760 | 30 E. Lake Street, 5th Floor | Chicago, IL 60601