Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HWC Library Newsletter: September 2022: Home

Harold Washington College Library Newsletter * September 2022

Harold Washington College Library Newsletter * September 2022

From Library Card Sign-Up Month to Banned Books Week to Hispanic / Latinx Heritage Month, September is full of bookish celebrations. Visit us to check out our current displays. Like something you see? Unless otherwise noted, all display books can be checked out of the library with a current CCC ID card. We are located on the 5th floor. Our Fall 2022 hours of operation are Monday - Thursday from 8AM to 8PM and Friday from 8AM to 4PM

New Website

The Library's website has a new look! Visit our homepage to access online resources and learn more about what the HWC Library can offer.

Chat Reference Hours

Librarians are available via chat during the fall semester. Chat hours are: Monday - Friday: 8:00 am-10 pm and Saturday - Sunday: 10 am-10 pm. The chat box feature will open on the lower right corner of any library page including the main CCC Libraries information page.

 

Screen capture of the CCC Libraries Homepage with links to the individual campus libraries.

 

On the HWC Library homepage, you can also chat with a librarian by clicking on the blue "Chat With A Librarian" button on the left side of the page.

Faculty Collaboration

In 2019, the library piloted a program that embedded librarians in English 102 classes. These librarians assisted with student research needs, supported up to five class sessions per semester, and created readings/assignments that would support English 102 assignments. If you are interested in learning more about the embedded librarian program, please let us know. As always, we are deeply committed to ensuring that your students are getting all the help they need. We build department-, course-, and class-specific research guides. Please see the links below for examples of other services we offer:

 

Featured eBooks: Latin@ Heritage Month

Cover of Inventing Latinos
Cover of Manteca: an anthology of afro-latino poets
Cover of Fruit of the Drunken Tree
Cover of Latina/o Midwest Reader
Cover of I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter
Cover of Vamos Let's Go to the Market
Cover of  Caramelo

Current Library Displays

September 15 - October 15Hispanic / Latinx Heritage Month.

September 15 - October 15 is Hispanic / Latinx Heritage Month.

Image of book shelf with books that have been banned or challenged.

Banned Books Week is September 18 - 24, 2022.

Image of book shelf with books that have been banned or challenged.

Banned Books Week is September 18 - 24, 2022.

Image of book shelf with books that have been banned or challenged.

Banned Books Week is September 18 - 24, 2022.

Image of book shelf with books that have been banned or challenged.

Banned Books Week is September 18 - 24, 2022.

Image of book shelf with books that have been banned or challenged.

Banned Books Week is September 18 - 24, 2022.

One Book, One Chicago celebrates Freedom To Read with Maus by Art Spiegelman.

September is Library Card Sign Up Month.

Past Newsletters

Take a look at our previous newsletters for any information you might have missed.

Textbooks in the Library

Textbook didn't arrive in time for the first day of class? Not able to purchase a copy of a textbook you need this semester? Did you know that the HWC Library has a collection of current textbooks (also known as our Course Reserves)?  Stop by to find out if the Library has what you are looking for. While items in Course Reserve cannot be taken out of the library, we have copiers and scanners available if you need specific chapters in class or at home. Please keep in mind that there may be instances in which the Library does not have a textbook being used in the current semester. Visit us for more information. 

Library Request Forms

Schedule Library Instruction (for HWC faculty)

Schedule a Research Consultation (for all HWC community)

Suggest a Purchase (for all HWC community)

Request an Interlibrary Loan (for all HWC community)

Request a Video for Online Viewing (for HWC faculty)

Faculty Publications (for HWC faculty)

Featured Database: The Latino American Experience

The Latino American Experience is a database dedicated to the history and culture of Latinx people. Included in the contents of the database is the Bracero Program Collection, a collection of primary and secondary sources provides an in-depth look at the Bracero Program and the experiences of the workers who participated in it. The Latino American Experience is part of the Library's collection of online databases. Remember that remote access to our online databases requires you to log in with your CCC username (do not include the @student.ccc.edu part) and password.

Movies in the Library: Hispanic / Latinx Heritage Month

Join us this month for movies that center the experience of Latinx and Latin American people. We will be screening Precious Knowledge: Fighting for Mexican American Studies in Arizona Schools (Dos Vatos, 2011) and Xcanul / Volcano (Kino Lorber, 2015). Films will be shown in 501K inside the Library.

Precious Knowledge reports from the frontlines of one of the most contentious battles in public education in recent memory, the fight over Mexican American studies programs in Arizona public schools. The film interweaves the stories of several students enrolled in the Mexican American Studies Program at Tucson High School with interviews with teachers, parents, school officials, and the lawmakers who wish to outlaw the classes. (2011 / 1hr 9min)

The brilliant debut by Guatemalan filmmaker Jayro Bustamante is a mesmerizing fusion of fact and fable, a dreamlike depiction of the daily lives of Kaqchikel speaking Mayans on a coffee plantation at the base of an active volcano. Immersing us in its characters' customs and beliefs, IXCANUL chronicles with unblinking realism, a disappearing tradition and a disappearing people. (2015 / 1hr 31min)

Shelf Talker

Useful Delusions: The Power and Paradox of the Self-Deceiving Brain by Shankar Vedantam and Bill Mesler delves into the war in our brains between logic and emotion, fact and deception, superstition and logic, and so much more! Each chapter illuminates examples of how people deceive and allow themselves to be deceived for all manner of reasons. Yet, the authors argue that these different strategies we use to try to make sense of the world may all serve a purpose. In the end, the book discusses how difficult it is to change your mind when you learn that something you believe is untrue, as well as the value of doing so. Paradoxically, the authors show how metaphors, symbols, and parables may sometimes serve us better than rationality and logic. -- Todd Heldt, Librarian 

We're on Instagram!

Connect with us on Instagram @hwc_library for news and information about resources, events, and more at the HWC Library.

Contact Us

 Contact Us | 312-553-5760 | 30 E. Lake Street, 5th Floor | Chicago, IL 60601