LibGuides: MXC Research 101: Brainstorming Keywords

Brainstorm Keywords

Brainstorming Keywords is an important part of research!

Search terms will depend on your topic of course, but generally you will want to use the most important words related to your topic or what we call keywords.

Keywords may be terms you already know and use to describe your topic, but it may be helpful to look at some background information by looking in a related textbook, reading reference sources, or searching the web to find out what words are being used to describe this issue.

Brainstorm related words to the main keywords you have in mind, like synonyms, or words that have the same meaning. Some sources may be using different words to describe the same thing.

Check out the Thinking Tool linked below, and the video on how to use it for a step by step process that can help you refine your topic and come up with keywords.

Background (Reference) Databases

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Now called Gale eBooks.
Multidisciplinary database of full text encyclopedias and reference sources for research and ready reference. Enables one search that covers all sources. Subjects include arts, sciences, medicine, and the humanities.
Funk & Wagnall’s New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
A general encyclopedia with more than 250,000 full text short articles.
Sage eReference This link opens in a new window
Collection has more than 4000 books in the social science areas of: business, management, counseling, criminology, education, geography, health, media, communication, politics, international relations, psychology, and sociology. Bibliographic searches only.
eBook Collection (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
Features a broad range of titles across a variety of disciplines.

Thinking Tool

Thinking Tool
This step by step tool can help you refine your topic and brainstorm keywords.