LibGuides: Child Development Library Resources: Articles and Databases

Welcome to the Child Development Guide

Use the tabs on the left to navigate to the various resources.
If you have questions feel free to contact me or use the chat feature to immediately chat with a librarian.

Databases with Child Development Content

Use databases to find peer-reviewed or scholarly articles for your papers and projects.

A CCC login is required to access articles from home.

Academic Search Complete

General database of academic journals in the sciences and humanities. Includes full text scholarly / peer-reviewed articles. This database is a great starting point for general research.
DSM Library

The DSM Library includes the latest edition of the DSM-5, DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, DSM-5 Clincal Cases, Spanish Edition of the Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria from DSM-5, and DSM-5 Handbook on the Cultural Formulation Interview.
Education Full Text

Professional development resources for educators and administrators.
ERIC (EBSCOhost)

ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide
Family & Society Studies Worldwide™ is a core resource providing the most comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare.
Teacher Reference Center

Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators. Some items are full-text.
Peterson’s Test and Career Prep

Resources for entrance exams, licensing exams, and scholarships. Includes prep books and practice tests. You will have to register to be able to read books and save test results.

Full-Text Journals

Child Development
As the flagship journal of the Society for Research in Child Development (SRCD), Child Development has published articles, essays, reviews, and tutorials on various topics in the field of child development since 1930. Spanning many disciplines, the journal provides the latest research, not only for researchers and theoreticians, but also for child psychiatrists, clinical psychologists, psychiatric social workers, specialists in early childhood education, educational psychologists, special education teachers, and other researchers.
Child Development Perspectives
Provides accessible, synthetic reports that summarize emerging trends or conclusions within various domains of developmental research, & to encourage multidisciplinary & international dialogue on a variety of topics in the developmental sciences.
Early Childhood Education Journal
Publishes articles on curriculum, child care programs, administration, staff development, family-school relationships, equity issues, multicultural units, health nutrition, facilities, special needs, employer-sponsored care, and infant/toddler programs.
Gifted Child Today
The journal provides critical information for teachers and administrators involved with gifted children. Gifted Child Today includes articles about topics such as teaching strategies in gifted education, building a more effective gifted and talented program, and working with gifted children with learning disabilities.
Infant & Child Development
Publishes theoretical, empirical and methodological papers covering all aspects of psychological development during infancy and early childhood.
YC Young Children
Young Children is a peer-reviewed professional journal published by the National Association for the Education of Young Children. Young Children issues are organized around topical clusters that devote special attention to issues in the field of early childhood education.