Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Starting Your Research
The Library Discovery Tool is a great place to start your research. Search for both books and digital resources (like articles) here. You may be prompted to login with your CCC username and password.
Best Bets for Scholarly Sources
Academic Search Complete
General database of academic journals in the sciences and humanities. Includes full text scholarly / peer-reviewed articles.
Provides full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Best Bets for Current Events and Policy Information
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Covers hottest social issues, such as offshore drilling, climate change, health care, and immigration. Has full text, editor selected articles. Helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of information for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. The reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked.
Best Bets for News and Newspapers
Proquest News and Newspapers
ProQuest provides millions of documents from thousands of sources, covering research and subject areas like these: The Arts, Business, Health & Medicine, History, Literature & Language, Science & Technology, Social Sciences
Find Background Information: Reference Sources
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Multidisciplinary database of full text encyclopedias and reference sources for research and ready reference. Enables one search that covers all sources. Subjects include arts, sciences, medicine, and the humanities.
Funk and Wagnall’s New World Encyclopedia
A general encyclopedia with more than 250,000 full text short articles.