LibGuides: Political Science: News Sources

Recommended Databases

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. The reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Covers hottest social issues, such as offshore drilling, climate change, health care, and immigration. Has full text, editor selected articles. Helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of information for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.

ProQuest Newsstream (1980 - current)
ProQuest Newsstream offers recent U.S. news content going back to 1980.
Newspaper Source Plus

Available through EBSCOHost, this database with cover-to-cover full text for more than 1100 national (U.S.) and international newspapers.
Proquest Databases and Newspapers

A list of ProQuest databases subscribed to by CCC.

Associated Press
The Associated Press (AP) is an independent global news organization dedicated to factual reporting.

Chronicle of Higher Education

Features news and information for college and university faculty members and administrators

Th Conversation
The Conversation is a nonprofit, independent news organization dedicated to unlocking the knowledge of experts for the public good.
Foreign Affairs
Foreign Affairs is published by the Council on Foreign Relations (CFR), a non-profit and nonpartisan membership organization dedicated to improving the understanding of U.S. foreign policy and international affairs through the free exchange of ideas.

New York Times Digital Edition

Access includes 1851 to current day and all updates, International; Spanish and Chinese editions; NYT produced videos, blogs, newsletters, subscriber events; teaching and learning tools with 16 discipline channels; curated articles; discussion questions; co-curricular activities

Not included: NYT Games, NYT Cooking, e-reader replica edition

PBS NewsHour
PBS NewsHour is a public media news organization with a nightly hour-long television broadcast and a robust digital footprint across the web and social media.
Pulitzer Center
The Pulitzer Center raises awareness of underreported global issues through direct support for quality journalism across all media platforms and a unique program of education and public outreach.
Reuters
Reuters provides business, financial, national and international news to professionals via desktop terminals, the world's media organizations, industry events and directly to consumers.

Wall Street Journal

Full text coverage and indexing of the Wall Street Journal.
Washington Post

Full text coverage and indexing of the Washington Post.
Publication Finder

Search CCC library electronic publications by title, subject or ISSN/ISBN and also browse publications by discipline.

Block Club Chicago
Block Club Chicago is a nonprofit and nonpartisan news organization dedicated to reporting on Chicago neighborhood news and issues.
Chalkbeat Chicago
Chalkbeat is a nonprofit news organization focused on public education. Chalkbeat Chicago provides in-depth reporting on Chicago Public Schools and more.
Chicago Defender
Founded in 1905, the Chicago Defender is a Chicago news provider focused on reporting stories that cover the interests of the African-American community.
Chicago Reader
A non-profit alternative newspaper that offers in-depth reporting on Chicago and beyond.
Chicago Reporter
The Chicago Reporter is a news source focused on investigating race and poverty in Chicago. The core areas of coverage are criminal justice, affordable housing and economic development, jobs and transportation.
Chicago Sun Times
The Chicago Sun-Times was founded in 1948 through a merger of the Chicago Sun and the Daily Times. It’s known for investigative reporting. In 2022, it became part of the Chicago Public Media family of companies and now operates as a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization. Access to the Sun Times is free but requires creating an account and watching a promoted video.

Chicago Tribune (1985-current)

Full text coverage from today's news and historical coverage back to 1985.
Crain's Chicago Business
Chicago business news stories.

La Raza Chicago
Spanish language newspaper and website with Chicago specific coverage.
WBEZ
Chicago's National Public Radio station. The WBEZ website offers a live stream, as well as in-depth articles and audio on Chicago based stories and issues.