Women and Gender Studies

• For physical books located at City College Libraries, search the online catalog. 

• For ebooks, search the EBSCO eBook Collection. 

• For information from subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books, search Gale Virtual Reference Library and Sage Social Science eReference.

• For articles from academic journals, magazines, and newspapers search Academic Search Complete, ProQuest, and JSTOR. Subject themed databases include:

  • Gender Studies
  • Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
  • Family & Society Studies Worldwide

• For social issues, contemporary and controversial topics, search Opposing Viewpoints or CQ Researcher. Examples of topics in Opposing Viewpoints include Birth Control, Body Image, Gender Identity, LGBTQ+ Marriage Equality, Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls, Sex Education, Sexual Harassment, Women in Combat, and Work and Family.

• For popular magazines, search Flipster, a digital magazine database. Selected magazine titles include:
  • Bitch Magazine: Feminist Response to Pop Culture
  • Black Beauty & Hair
  • CuerpoMente
  • Essence
  • Parents
  • Parents Latina
  • Out
  • Vogue

• Academic Video Online (AVON) from Alexander Street offers a variety of documentaries and academic videos for streaming. Selected channels include:

  • Women's and Gender Studies Video Online
  • Feminist Theory
  • LGBT Studies
  • Family and Culture
  • Fashion Studies

If you would like to see a full list of the library's subscription databases, check out the alphabetized Full List of Library Databases or the Subject List of Library Databases if you prefer to see them grouped by general subject area. 

All library databases linked to are subscription databases. This means that to access them from anywhere outside of a City College building, you will need to log in with your CCC username and password. Note: Enter the username without the @student.ccc.edu ending.

The login page will look like this:

The following links will walk you through the process of doing research once you have settled on a topic from starting your research to search for information in the library's database to evaluating information sources.

1. Starting Your Research

2. Developing Keywords

3. Locating Sources

4. Evaluating Sources

5. Citations and Plagiarism

Google Scholar is a Google platform that allows the user to search for information deemed scholarly from a variety of types of resources including journals, government documents, and websites. When searching, keep in mind that you may come across items that are not accessible in Google Scholar. You can always contact an HWC librarian with the citation information that is available in Google Scholar, and we can help you locate a copy. Remember that whenever you are doing research, and especially when using resources on the open internet, it is important to critically evaluate your sources of information.

This page from the University of Illinois Library provides more information about Google Scholar, its benefits and drawbacks, and how it compares to searching in a library database.