Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Basic Search & Help Tools
Daley Library Homepage & Search
A good place to start your search!
LibChat: Ask a Librarian
Have a question about finding books or articles or conducting research? You can chat live with a CCC Librarian daily between 10am-10pm, or, outside of those hours, send a message to be answered the next business day.
The preferred citation style for this course is MLA (Modern Language Association). The resources below can help you learn how to format your citations.
Recommended Online Resources to Continue Your Search
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
General database of academic journals in the sciences and humanities. Includes full text scholarly / peer-reviewed articles.
African American Experience This link opens in a new window
The African American Experience is the widest ranging and easiest-to-use online database collection on African American history and culture.
American Indian Experience This link opens in a new window
The American Indian Experience is a digital resource that illuminates the histories and contemporary cultures of the Native peoples of North America.
Black Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
Contains hundreds of hours of documentaries, interviews, and archival footage detailing the black experience.
Black Thought and Culture
Provides approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present.
Chicago Defender (1909-2010) This link opens in a new window
Historical collection of Chicago's premier African-American newspaper.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
This database presents multi-ethnic and multi-cultural points of view from newspapers, magazines, and journals.
Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
The database covers gender inequality, masculinity, postfeminism, gender identity, and other topics related to gender studies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Latino American Experience This link opens in a new window
This database is dedicated to the rich heritage and current culture of Latinos in the United States.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers hottest social issues, such as offshore drilling, climate change, health care, and immigration. Has full text, editor selected articles. Helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of information for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1909 - 2010) This link opens in a new window
Historical Chicago Defender content covering 1909-2010.
Women and Social Movements This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000.
Sharpen your search with Boolean Operators!
You can get more targeted search results in your computer searches by using the three Boolean operators, AND, OR, and NOT.
Infographic courtesy Slippery Rock University, https://sru.libguides.com/english/librarybasics/booleanoperators