Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Paralegal LibGuide for HWC: Home

This guide will assist paralegal students in connecting to useful information resources.

Mission

The HWC Library supports the HWC Paralegal Program's mission to prepare students to be highly effective professionals that meet the needs of a variety of legal settings. We provide resources to assist students in learning how to conduct legal research as well as supporting their additional coursework. For additional information regarding the paralegal program, please visit their homepage here.

New Legal Books

Paralegal Databases

The HWC Library subscribes to databases that are intended to support coursework across the curriculum. Several databases hold useful journals to supporting paralegal research, including business, news, and legal research. The main landing page for our database collection can be found here: Databases by Subject

Academic Search Complete: Contains a large collection of full-text law review journals, including the ABA Journal, Law & Policy. Additionally, this database contains newspapers, magazines, and academic journals across all disciplines.

Business Source Elite: Primarily focused on business journals and magazines, this database does include business law journals. It is also a great resource for company information.

Proquest Newspapers: Our largest collection of news publications, including the Chicago Tribune, New York Times, and Wall Street Journal

Additionally, the HWC Library maintains a collection of ebooks that include many paralegal resources. To view the collection, please click here

All of these resources may be accessed remotely (off-campus). Simply login with your CCC username and password.

Course Reserves

The HWC Library maintains a large selection of paralegal books in our Course Reserve collection. These are textbooks and other supporting materials necessary to complete coursework in the paralegal program. In order to learn more information about borrowing textbooks, please visit our Textbooks in the Library page, here.

Ask a Librarian Chat

Harold Washington College Library Hours

Location

30 E. Lake Street
5th Floor
Chicago, IL 60601

Get Directions