Library Session sample syllabus: Home

This lesson plan was adapted from the Wright College full-time faculty’s master syllabus for library information literacy sessions, the Harold Washington & CCC student resources page, as well as a number of instructor syllabi from other CCC library information sessions.

Prerequisites: Enrollment as a student at the City Colleges of Chicago

Overview[PR2] :

This instructional session is designed to provide incoming students to Harold Washington College with the basics to make use of everything the library has to offer. Throughout the session, we will use the library’s resources to demonstrate search strategies and retrieval of information, discuss what sources are most appropriate to use, and present research skills that will help students prosper in college and beyond.

Objectives and Student Learning Outcomes:[PR3] 

At the end of the session, students will be able to:

1. Perform the requisite research for college courses, including:

1. Recognizing different types of information
2. Identifying relevant keywords and using them to design an
   effective search strategy
3. Navigating database interfaces in the library’s electronic
   collection
4. Evaluating the credibility and applicability of sources
5. Using information ethically and honestly with appropriate
   citation

2. Demonstrate confidence when searching for, retrieving, evaluating,
and using information in multiple formats and from a variety of
sources.
3. Look beyond initial results when constructing search strategies, using
appropriate keywords, commands including Boolean operators

4. Demonstrate adaptability when search results are inconclusive or not
relevant
5. Use information ethically and with academic honesty, with
appropriate citations
6. Apply library research and information literacy skills in occupational
and other non-academic setting
7. Think critically about information they are presented with beyond the
classrooms

Session Outline[PR4] :

1. Introduction and ice breaker – what was the first library you went to and why did you go?
   1.  What is the library and what does it offer?
      1. Electronic offerings
         1. Library catalog, ILL, and database access
      2. Physical offerings
         1. Textbooks, periodicals, and stacks
      3. Services
         1. Printing / copying, computer lab
         2. Study rooms
         3. Research help and other support
2. Searching like a pro
   1. Search engines vs databases
   2. Formulating a research question
   3. What terms to use?
   4. Boolean operators – And, Or, Not
   5. How to use a database
      1. Subject specific databases
   6. Keeping track of sources
      1. Citation help
         1. MLA
         2. APA
         3. Be consistent and, when in doubt, check with your professor!
      2. Citation Machine
3. Activities [PR5] – bringing it all together!
   1. Catalog, ILL, or Database?[PR6] 
   2. Brainstorming Keywords Exercise
4. Conclusion and follow-up
   1. Contact me or one of the other librarians with any questions!
      1. HWC librarian contact form
      2. Email
      3. Phone

Methods of Evaluating Student Performance:

In-class brainstorming and searching activity, discussion and analysis of search strategies, allowing time for independent work with librarian oversight.

Academic Integrity:

The City Colleges of Chicago is committed to the ideals of truth and honesty. In the view of this commitment, students are expected to adhere to high standards of honesty in their academic endeavor. Plagiarism and cheating of any kind are serious violations of these standards and will result, minimally, in a failing grade.

Student Conduct:

City Colleges of Chicago students are expected to conduct themselves in a manner which is considerate of the rights of others and which will not impair the educational mission of the College. Misconduct for which students are subject to College Discipline (e.g. expulsion) may include the following:

1. All forms of dishonesty such as stealing, forgery
2. Obstruction or disruption of teaching, research, administration,
   disciplinary proceeding
3. Physical or verbal abuse, threats, intimidation, harassment, and/or
   other conduct that threatens or endangers the health or safety of any
   person
4. Carrying or possession of weapons, ammunition or other explosives

Support Services:

1. Access Center – establishes and provides academic accommodations and accessibility for students with documented disabilities.
2. Advising – career assessment, goal setting, academic program assignment, education planning and course selection, and career and transfer support.
3. Career Services - assists students with career exploration, goal setting, job readiness, and placement
4. CTA ​U-Pass - provides unlimited access to Chicago’s bus and rail system for full-time credit students.
5. New Student Orientation – provides a broad range of information about the college and programs of study, student policies and expectations, support services to help you succeed, and clubs and organizations which provide enriching experiences. First-time students or students returning after a break are encouraged to register for a College Success course to learn tips and skills to help you succeed in college.
6. Student Activities – supports the Student Government Association (SGA), student clubs, groups and organizations, various honors societies, arts, culture, and more.
7. Transfer Resources Center - assists students in planning for a smooth transfer to a 4-y​ear college or university.
8. TRIO Student Support Services​ - provides individualized support for participants, including study skills tutoring, course selection advisement, FAFSA assistance, financial literacy, transfer coaching, and clinical counseling. 
9. Veterans Services – provides specialized services for veterans.​
10. Wellness Center - ​​provides a variety of services to support the we​ll-being of students, faculty, and staff. Including free and confidential counseling, psychological & learning evaluations, case management, referral to resources, and workshops. Wellness also hosts the Healthy Market, which is a food pantry that support in addressing food insecurity. 

Appendix:

HWC Information Literacy LibGuide

HWC Citations & Plagiarism LibGuide