LibGuides: Contemporary Social Problems: Electronic Library Resources

Search the Library Catalog

Advanced Search
Library Databases A-Z Find the best library databases for your research, listed in alphabetical order.
Research Guides
Find a Journal by Title
Sign in to your library account Use your CCC username and password to sign in to your library account. In your account you can renew checked out items and view the status of hold requests from CCC and I-Share libraries.

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
General database of academic journals in the sciences and humanities. Includes full text scholarly / peer-reviewed articles. This database is a great starting point for general research.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. The reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked.
eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Titles from university presses around the world covering a broad range of topics, including technology, science, literature, and humanities.
Ethnic Diversity Source
A full-text database covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
Family & Society Studies Worldwide™ is a core resource providing the most comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
The database covers gender inequality, masculinity, postfeminism, gender identity, and other topics related to gender studies.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, government, and general-interest resources covering the relationship between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health, and technology.
LGBTQ+ Source
LGBTQ+ Source includes full text for many LGBTQ+ publications, as well as a collection of 200 first-person narrative videos.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers hottest social issues, such as offshore drilling, climate change, health care, and immigration. Has full text, editor selected articles. Helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of information for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
Proquest Databases and Newspapers This link opens in a new window
A list of ProQuest databases subscribed to by CCC.
ProQuest eBooks This link opens in a new window
Ebooks covering a wide variety of academic and professional subject areas.

Using Subscription Databases

Our database subscriptions allow for access to copyrighted content including academic journals, eBooks, magazines, newspapers, etc. Not every database can be used to answer every research question.

On campus we are logged in automatically. Off-campus, you should log in with your CCC credentials.
Use keywords (e.g. Shakespeare AND criticism; Macbeth AND guilt; Hamlet AND Ophelia AND madness) in combination to get the most relevant results. Generally, the databases will look in the title, abstract, and subject terms (these are tags that describe the topics discussed) to provide results. Avoid words like what, in, the, how, etc.
Many databases provide full-text access as well as abstract-only access. Always click full-text if given the option!
Change the date range to get more recent results.