Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citing Sources

Citation and Writing Style Guides

Click on a guide for tips and examples for each style

Citation Basics

When you research a topic you may use information from articles, books, or the Open Web to support your ideas. Building upon the ideas and knowledge of other people is the way we as individuals build and contribute to the knowledge around us.

When you integrate other peoples' ideas and work into your own, it is importent to give those authors credit for their hard work. This enables others, who see your work, to also look at those peoples' ideas that have contributed to your project. To cite means that you state where you found the information so that others can find the exact item again.

Tips for researching and citing:

  • Take clear, accurate notes about where you found specific ideas.
  • Write down the complete citation information for each item you use.
  • Take advantage of online citing tools.
  • Use quotation marks when directly stating another person's words.
  • Always credit original authors for their information and ideas.

Burke, A. (Project Lead), Dorafshar, D. (Animation), Langdon, K. (Narrator), Orphanides, A. (Script), & Duckett, K. (Team Lead). (2014). Citation: A (Very) Brief Introduction. NCSU Libraries. Video retrieved from http://www.lib.ncsu.edu/tutorials/citation/

In general, any citation will include the

  • author(s) name,
  • the complete title of the work,
  • publication information, and
  • the date of publication.

Different types of sources will dictate the inclusion of different elements in the citations. Consult the Citation Styles Guides for more examples in different styles.

Summarizing, Paraphrasing, and Quoting

Summarizing

Paraphrasing

Quoting

  • Must reference the original source
  • The text is much shorter than the original text. (For example, one may write a single page to summarize a four-page article.)
  • Must use your own words, usually with a very limited use of quotations.

  • Must reference the original source
  • The text produced may be shorter or longer than the original text
  • Must use your own words

  • Must reference the original source
  • The text produced is the exact length of the original text quoted (unless ellipses are used)
  • Use the original author’s exactwords
  • Put quotation marks around the original author’s exact words
  • Include the page number of the original source from which you borrowed the author’s original language.

Paraphrasing from Media

Paraphrasing involves putting a passage from source material into your own words. A paraphrase must also be attributed to the original source. Paraphrased material is usually shorter than the original passage, taking a somewhat broader segment of the source and condensing it slightly.  Paraphrases also help one shape the meaning from the text to one’s specific project.

Some instructors will say that 4 consecutive words will make a paraphrase too close to the original language. This is certainly a grey area; check and see what your instructor says.


5 Steps to Effective Paraphrasing:

1. Read and then reread the original passage until you understand its full meaning.

2. Take notes on the most essential elements of the passage—the main claim, supporting claims, evidence, explanations, etc. 

3. Set the original aside, then write your paraphrase on another sheet of paper.

4. Check your rendition with the original to make sure that your version accurately expresses all the essential information in a new form.  This takes time to master; don’t worry if you have trouble changing the original language into your own language. 

5. If you have borrowed any unique terms or phrases from the original source, use quotation marks to identify them and include an internal citation.

*These templates and examples are derived from Gerald Graff and Cathy Birkenstein's "They Say/I Say": The Moves That Matter in Academic Writing, second edition.


How To Quote Others

Using the words of others can be tricky business. You typically only want to use a direct quotation in the following situations: if you’re using that statement as a piece of evidence for your own argument, if you’re establishing another’s position, or if another person has said something better and more clearly than you can. 

The main problem with using quotations happens when writers assume that the meaning of the quotation is obvious.  Writers who make this mistake believe that their job is done when they’ve chosen a quotation and inserted it into their text.  Quotations need to be taken from their original context and integrated fully into their new textual surroundings.  Every quotation needs to have your own words appear in the same sentence.  Here are some easy to use templates* for doing this type of introduction:


Templates for Introducing Quotations

X states, “__________.”

As the world-famous scholar X explains it, “________.”

As claimed by X, “______.”

In her article _______, X suggests that “_________.”

In X’s perspective, “___________.”

X concurs when she notes, “_______.”

You may have noticed that when the word “that” is used, the comma frequently becomes unnecessary.  This is because the word “that” integrates the quotation with the main clause of your sentence (instead of creating an independent and dependent clause).  

Now that you’ve successfully used the quotation in your sentence, it’s time to explain what that quotations means—either in a general sense or in the context of your argument.  Here are some templates for explaining quotations:

In other words, X asserts __________.

In arguing this claim, X argues that __________.

X is insisting that _________.

What X really means is that ____________.

The basis of X’s argument is that ___________.

*These templates are derived from Gerald Graff and Cathy Birkenstein's "They Say/I Say": The Moves That Matter in Academic Writing, second edition.

So how do you know when to cite? A few basic rules apply.

1. If you quote a resource, cite it.

2. If you paraphrase someone else's idea or statement, cite it.

3. If you're unsure, cite it.

4. If you state a fact that is not common knowledge, cite it.

Fact Statement Cite? Reason
The Internet has brought many changes to the field of journalism. No Most people are aware of this.
Newspaper circulation has dropped by 20 percent because of the Internet. Yes This is a specific fact that is not common knowledge.
Also, readers may want to know where this information came from so that they can use it for their own research.

More About Plagiarism

The Council of Writing Program Administrators gives the following definition:

"In an instructional setting, plagiarism occurs when a writer deliberately uses someone else’s language, ideas, or other original (not common-knowledge) material without acknowledg­ing its source" (WPA, 2009).

Why Should I Care?

You give credibility to your own work when you let others know where you got your work.

It helps others learn more (taking a "deep dive") about a particular aspect of your topic.

You are spreading the word about other people's hard work.

It's the ethical thing to do.

  1. Use your own ideas. It is your project and therefore your ideas should be the focus.
  2. Use the ideas of others sparingly and only to support or reinforce your own argument.
  3. When taking notes, include complete citation information for each item you use.
  4. Use quotation marks when directly stating another person's words.
  5. A good strategy is to take 30 minutes and write a short draft of your paper without using any notes. It will help you think through what you want to say and help to prevent you from becoming to dependent on your sources.

Additional Resources

Examples of Plagiarism

  • Forgetting to cite one or more sources.
  • Swapping out a few words from a copied paragraph even if you cite the source (called patch writing).
  • Stringing together individual sentences from different sources and not citing them.
  • Paraphrasing one or more sources and not citing them.
  • Citing a source incorrectly.
  • Inserting a citation for a source you didn't use or that dosn't exist.
  • Using protions of another paper or project you wrote/created and not citing yourself.
  • Handing in a paper or project you wrote/created for a different class.
  • Copying whole paragraphs from another source and not citing it or citing it incorrectly.
  • Copying, purchasing, or taking another person's entire paper or project and claiming it is your own.

 

Citation Tools in Databases

Many of our Databases have built-in citation generators! Use these tools as a starting point for creating citations and for keeping track of your sources as you are doing your research.

Database

Get Citation

Academic Search Complete

Cite button - right side of article record page

Business Source Complete Cite button - right side of article record page
Contemporary Literary Criticism Bottom of page - MLA Only
CQ Researcher CiteNow! at the top of the article page
Dictionary of Literary Biography Bottom of page - MLA Only
E-Books on EBSCO Cite button - right side of the record view
ERIC (Ovid) Select Word from Export window
ERIC (EBSCO) Cite button - right side of the record view
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia Cite button - right side of the record view
Gale Virtual Reference Library Citation Tools in the top horizontal navigation bar
Health Source - Consumer Edition Cite button - right side of the record view
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Cite button - right side of the record view
Nexis Uni Select 'Display Bibliographic Information in a new window' from Export option
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts Cite button - right side of the record view
MAS Ultra - School Edition Cite button - right side of the record view
MasterFILE Cite button - right side of the record view
New York Times (1851-2009) (ProQuest) Cite link in source management bar
Newspaper Source Cite button - right side of the record view
Opposing Viewpoints in Context Citation Tools in the record view
Oxford Art Online Cite link in Full Entry view. Only MLA & Chicago.
Oxford English Dictionary Cite link in Full Entry view. Only MLA & Chicago.
Oxford Music Online Cite link in Full Entry view. Only MLA & Chicago.
Professional Development Collection Cite button - right side of the record view
PsycINFO Cite button - right side of the record view
Regional Business News Cite button - right side of the record view
Combined Search Cite button - right side of the record view