Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Start your research here!
Library of Congress call numbers
Use these calls numbers to browse books on the shelves in the general collection and the reference collection.
Call number ranges
|Q -- General Science
|QD -- Chemistry
QD1-65 General (including alchemy)
QD71-142 Analytical chemistry
QD146-197 Inorganic chemistry
QD241-441 Organic Chemistry
QD450-801 Physical and theoretical chemistry
QD625-655 Radiation chemistry
Find books in the Library
The CCC libraries have hundreds of Chemistry book in print. Click "Request It" to place the book on hold and select a pick up location. Search Encore for additional titles.
Still can't find what you're looking for?
Talk to the librarians. We can request the books you need from other schools through the InterLibrary Loan Program.
The Chemistry of Plants and Insects by Have you ever wondered how plants attract certain insects, or how insects communicate with each other? This book explains the natural chemical compounds that determine the fascinating interactions between plants and insects providing a gentle and absorbing introduction to organic chemistry that is highly relevant to everyday life and to the natural world. Specific organic compounds and intriguing chemistry determine whether insects are keen on feeding on plants or avoid certain plants altogether. Some insects have learned to use plant compounds as their own defences, and some plants use digestive processes to use insects as nutritional supplements. Plant-insect interactions are vital for our food supply, for pollination of orchards or detrimentally in insect infestations of crops, as well as in applications like silk production. By the author of the popular book, The Chemistry of Plants: Perfumes, Pigments, and Poisons, this book benefits from Margareta Séquin's vast experience leading field trips and seminars to botanical gardens and nature reserves, and teaching chemistry to beginners. Organic chemistry is often seen as a challenging, sometimes abstract field. This book makes chemistry exciting and accessible for readers interested in a deeper understanding of the natural world. The book is organized according to the increasing complexity of compounds introduced, and so it also serves as a useful teaching aid for undergraduate chemistry or biology courses, and as a supplementary text for students in plant sciences, ecology, and entomology, and in horticultural programs.
Call Number: QL496 .S43 2017
Publication Date: 2017-04-28
Organic Chemistry by Organic chemistry is the chemistry of compounds of carbon. The ability of carbon to link together to form long chain molecules and ring compounds as well as bonding with many other elements has led to a vast array of organic compounds. These compounds are central to life, forming the basis fororganic molecules such as nucleic acids, proteins, carbohydrates, and lipids.In this Very Short Introduction Graham Patrick covers the whole range of organic compounds and their roles. Beginning with the structures and properties of the basic groups of organic compounds, he goes on to consider organic compounds in the areas of pharmaceuticals, polymers, food and drink,petrochemicals, and nanotechnology. He looks at how new materials, in particular the single layer form of carbon called graphene, are opening up exciting new possibilities for applications, and discusses the particular challenges of working with carbon compounds, many of which are colourless.Patrick also discusses techniques used in the field.ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, andenthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.
Call Number: QD251.3 .P38 2017
Publication Date: 2017-05-01
Physical Chemistry by Physical Chemistry: Concepts and Theory provides a comprehensive overview of physical and theoretical chemistry while focusing on the basic principles that unite the sub-disciplines of the field. With an emphasis on multidisciplinary, as well as interdisciplinary applications, the book extensively reviews fundamental principles and presents recent research to help the reader make logical connections between the theory and application of physical chemistry concepts. Also available from the author: Physical Chemistry: Multidisciplinary Applications (ISBN 9780128005132).
Call Number: QD453.3 .S36 2017
Publication Date: 2016-12-06
The Poison Squad by A New York Times Notable Book From Pulitzer Prize winner and New York Times-bestselling author Deborah Blum, the dramatic true story of how food was made safe in the United States and the heroes, led by the inimitable Dr. Harvey Washington Wiley, who fought for change By the end of nineteenth century, food was dangerous. Lethal, even. "Milk" might contain formaldehyde, most often used to embalm corpses. Decaying meat was preserved with both salicylic acid, a pharmaceutical chemical, and borax, a compound first identified as a cleaning product. This was not by accident; food manufacturers had rushed to embrace the rise of industrial chemistry, and were knowingly selling harmful products. Unchecked by government regulation, basic safety, or even labelling requirements, they put profit before the health of their customers. By some estimates, in New York City alone, thousands of children were killed by "embalmed milk" every year. Citizens--activists, journalists, scientists, and women's groups--began agitating for change. But even as protective measures were enacted in Europe, American corporations blocked even modest regulations. Then, in 1883, Dr. Harvey Washington Wiley, a chemistry professor from Purdue University, was named chief chemist of the agriculture department, and the agency began methodically investigating food and drink fraud, even conducting shocking human tests on groups of young men who came to be known as, "The Poison Squad." Over the next thirty years, a titanic struggle took place, with the courageous and fascinating Dr. Wiley campaigning indefatigably for food safety and consumer protection. Together with a gallant cast, including the muckraking reporter Upton Sinclair, whose fiction revealed the horrific truth about the Chicago stockyards; Fannie Farmer, then the most famous cookbook author in the country; and Henry J. Heinz, one of the few food producers who actively advocated for pure food, Dr. Wiley changed history. When the landmark 1906 Food and Drug Act was finally passed, it was known across the land, as "Dr. Wiley's Law." Blum brings to life this timeless and hugely satisfying "David and Goliath" tale with righteous verve and style, driving home the moral imperative of confronting corporate greed and government corruption with a bracing clarity, which speaks resoundingly to the enormous social and political challenges we face today.
Call Number: TX518.W5 B58 2018
Publication Date: 2018-09-25
Women in Their Element: Selected Women's Contributions to the Periodic System by This year we celebrate the 150th anniversary of Mendeleev's first publication of the Periodic Table of Elements. This book offers an original viewpoint on the history of the Periodic Table: a collective volume with short illustrated papers on women and their contribution to the building and the understanding of the Periodic Table and of the elements themselves.Few existing texts deal with women's contributions to the Periodic Table. A book on women's work will help make historical women chemists more visible, as well as shed light on the multifaceted character of the work on the chemical elements and their periodic relationships. Stories of female input, the editors believe, will contribute to the understanding of the nature of science, of collaboration as opposed to the traditional depiction of the lone genius.While the discovery of elements will be a natural part of this collective work, the editors aim to go beyond discovery histories. Stories of women contributors to the chemistry of the elements will also include understanding the concept of element, identifying properties, developing analytical methods, mapping the radioactive series, finding applications of elements, and the participation of women as audiences when new elements were presented at lectures.As for the selection of women, the chapters include pre-periodic table contributions as well as recent discoveries, unknown stories as well as more famous ones. The main emphasis will be on work conducted in the late 19th century and early 20th century. Furthermore, the book includes elements from different groups in the periodic table, so as to represent a variety of chemical contexts. remove Interview of Annette Lykknes and Brigitte Van Tiggelen about their idea to provide a wider view of the history of science, to acknowledge that science is done in cooperation and not by a single genius, and to give the unknown contributors their names back at 'As with the discoveries themselves, bringing these tales of female scientists to light has taken much teamwork, including by contributors Gisela Boeck, John Hudson, Claire Murray, Jessica Wade, Mary Mark Ockerbloom, Marelene Rayner-Canham, Geoffrey Rayner-Canham, Xavier Roqu , Matt Shindell and Ignacio Suay-Matallana.Tracing women in the history of chemistry unveils a fuller picture of all the people working on scientific discoveries, from unpaid assistants and technicians to leaders of great labs. In this celebratory year of the periodic table, it is crucial to recognize how it has been built -- and continues to be shaped -- by these individual efforts and broad collaborations.'Nature 565, 559-561 (2019)
Call Number: QD21 .W63 2019
Publication Date: 2019-08-28
Need digital access right away? Consider an eBook or eEncylopedia!
eBook Community College Collection (EBSCOhost)
Over 52,000 titles for the needs of community colleges.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Multidisciplinary database of full text encyclopedias and reference sources for research and ready reference. Enables one search that covers all sources. Subjects include arts, sciences, medicine, and the humanities.
Collection has more than 4000 books in the social science areas of: business, management, counseling, criminology, education, geography, health, media, communication, politics, international relations, psychology, and sociology. Bibliographic searches only.
Click Chemistry by Click chemistry, which is also referred to as linkage chemistry, dynamic, combinatorial chemistry or quick linking combinatorial chemistry describes the reaction that joins molecular fragments as simply, efficient and versatile as clicking a mouse. The two units with specific click structures can be linked by a click reaction no matter what is attached to the structure, and only the specific click structures can be joined. It emphasises the development of new combinatorial chemistries on the basis of the synthesis of efficient and highly selective carbon-heteroatom bonds (C-X-C), and effectively prepares molecules with high diversity via these simple reactions. It significantly simplified and promoted the development of synthesis chemistry. Click chemistry has become one of the most useful and attractive synthetic strategies in many fields. In this book, the definition of click chemistry is explained, the characteristics and types of click chemistry are introduced, and some specific reaction types are focused on. The progress for using click chemistry for the synthesis and functionalisation of hydrogels, elastomers, surface modifications, membrane preparations, assemble polyaromatic structures, biomedical fields and optical sensing in biological analyses are described in detail. The problems and challenges for using click chemistry in different fields are analysed.
Publication Date: 2017-06-09
Organic Chemistry by Written in a concise and student-friendly way, this textbook focuses on the underlying principles of organic chemistry and provides the tools for understanding the nature of organic reactions. The author utilizes an integrated approach for organic chemistry, uniting in a logical manner the main reaction types and their mechanisms, compound classes and their typical reactions, organic spectroscopy and principles of structure elucidation.
Publication Date: 2018-03-05
Engineering Chemistry by Engineering Chemistry includes comprehensive, lucid and accurate presentations of the subject matter, which is easy to understand and stimulates the interest of students. It provides the in-depth information required to understand the principles and practice of applied chemistry, and presents coherent and adequate coverage of various topics. The fundamentals have been explained with the help of illustrations, diagrams and tables to facilitate better understanding. A balance between theoretical and applied aspects have been maintained in this book. The solved examples in the chapter and exercises at the end of each chapter help in strengthening the theoretical concepts.
Publication Date: 2018-04-30
Principles of Chemistry by Provides students and researchers with an easy-to-understand introduction to the fundamentals of chemistry, from elements and molecules to chemical reactions and properties of matter.
Publication Date: 2016-03-09