Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- Chicago Public Library
- Creative Commons Search: Search for images, media, and more content on websites including Google and Flickr
- Hathi Trust Digital Library "(offers) a collection of millions of titles digitized from (academic & research institutions) around the world."
- Macworld magazine provides "practical information (including) deep-dive hardware and software reviews; clear, concise tips and tutorials; and penetrating analysis."
- MetPublications provides access to "five decades of Met publications on art history, available to read, download, and/or search for free," including full-length books.
- Open Culture is a curated collection of free cultural and educational media from across the web.
- The Ryerson and Burnham Libraries at the Art Institute of Chicago
- Smarthistory "is a non-profit collaboration that brings (world-class resources on art and cultural objects from) art's global history to everyone" through videos, essays, and more.
- Wikimedia Commons is "a collection of ... freely usable media files"
- Animation World Network is "the leading source of animation industry news"
- Vimeo Animation: "the best animation craft, style, and character design on the web"
- blenderart is a free online magazine for the blender community
- Designer Notes is an interview podcast with game designers, "examining their careers as a whole."
- The DiGRA Digital Library contains peer-reviewed research papers "that have been accepted for publication at (Digital Games Research Association) conferences.
- gamedev.net Articles and Tutorials
- "Transactions of the Digital Games Research Association (ToDIGRA) is a quarterly, international, open access, refereed, multidisciplinary journal dedicated to research on and practice in all aspects of games."
GRAPHIC DESIGN / VISUAL COMMUNICATION
- AdViews from Duke University Libraries is "a digital archive of thousands of vintage television commercials dating from the 1950s to the 1980s."
- AIGA Design Archives contains examples "dating back to 1924, (and) is a vital record of all disciplines of communication design"
- Dexigner "is the leading online portal for ... the latest design news, events, competitions, books and resources," including a "comprehensive database of design firms, studios, museums, organizations and resources."
- Eye Magazine: The international review of graphic design
- Ideabook.com provides "ideas about and resources related to print and web design, marketing, advertising, illustration, typography, copywriting, technology, and more"
- Identifont is "the largest independent directory of digital fonts" online
- MorgueFile features over 200,000 images which can be used commercially without attribution
- TinEye MultiColor Search Lab allows you to search Creative Commons images on Flickr by color
- Vintage Ad Browser "(collects) vintage ads from a variety of sources, including comic books, CD-Roms, websites, APIs, (viewer) submissions, book, magazine & comic book scans, and more."
Design & Animation Museums
Citations, Copyright and Fair Use in the Visual Arts
Copyright "is a form of protection grounded in the U.S. Constitution and granted by law for original works of authorship fixed in a tangible medium of expression. Copyright covers both published and unpublished works." Learn more here.
Fair Use allows "the unlicensed use of copyright-protected works in certain circumstances." Learn more here.
Creative Commons licenses make creative works "freely available for legal use, sharing, repurposing, and remixing" by "any member of the public." The CC Search search engine lets you "search for free content in the public domain and under Creative Commons licenses. Learn more about CC licenses here."
The MLA, Chicago, and Turabian citation styles may be used in writing about art. Check your syllabus or contact your professor to find out which style they prefer.
Quick guides to citing images:
ARTSTOR's guides to Using Images and Copyright, including Citing Sources
College Art Association Guidelines regarding Fair Use and Copyright:
Fair Use Evaluator
Statement on Fair Use from the Visual Resources Association
Circulation Desk: (312) 553-5760
Reference Desk: (312) 553-5784