LibGuides: Humanities: Searches & Databases

Basic Search & Help Tools

Daley Library Homepage & Search
A good place to start your research! Searching on the library website can get you access to books, articles, and other resources that are available both in the library and online. If you are interested in borrowing a book or accessing article that our library does not carry, the home page also includes instructions on how to submit an inter library loan request.
LibChat: Ask a Librarian
Have a question about finding books or articles or conducting research? You can chat live with a CCC Librarian daily between 10am-10pm, or, outside of those hours, send a message to be answered the next business day.
How to print at the library
Includes current printing costs, as well as step-by-step instructions on how to print at the library via a library computer or a personal computer.

Recommended Online Databases for the Humanities

CCC Library purchases subscriptions to dozens of databases of academic articles, books, works of journalism, and more, giving CCC students and staff access to works that would otherwise be locked behind a paywall. The databases below are the most useful for studying the humanities:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
General database of academic journals in the sciences and humanities. Includes full text scholarly / peer-reviewed articles.
eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Titles from university presses around the world covering a broad range of topics, including technology, science, literature, and humanities.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
This database includes full text articles, critical essays, biographies, reviews and other works from scholarly journals and literary magazines concerning authors, their works, and literary movements.
Oxford Academic This link opens in a new window
Until June 30, 2024, CCC via its Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois (CARLI) membership will have access to titles in six subject areas: Biology, History, Law, Music, Political Science, and Religion with online publication dates of 2019–March 2024.
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
Provides curated video and audio dramatic performances across a diverse range of theater offerings.
World History in Video This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive and global documentaries that explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century.

To view and access all of the databases that CCC subscribes to, click here.

Sharpen your search with Boolean Operators!

You can get more targeted search results in your computer searches by using the three Boolean operators, AND, OR, and NOT.

Infographic courtesy Slippery Rock University, https://sru.libguides.com/english/librarybasics/booleanoperators