Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Video Resources in the Library

This guide provides information about library resources for streaming videos as well as other video resources.

Library Resources for Videos

Main page of Kanopy video platform.  

  • Kanopy offers feature films and documentaries for streaming. Content partners include the Criterion Collection, A24, A&E, Kino Lorber, and the History Channel. Request a title for a current or future semester through this form.

  • Academic Video Online (AVON) from Alexander Street offers a variety of documentaries, performances, news shows and academic videos from a variety of publishers including PBS, CNN, Alexander Street, Broadway Theatre Archive, United Newsreel Corporation, and BBC Worldwide, as well as feature films from Sony Picture Classics and documentaries from Film Platform.

  • The library has a collection of nearly four hundred titles on DVD. To find out if we own a copy of a specific title, search the online catalog or contact a librarian for assistance.

Remote Access to Library Resources

All library databases, including Kanopy and AVON, are subscription databases. This means that to access them from anywhere outside of a City Colleges building, you will need to log in with your CCC username and password. Note: Enter the username without the @student.ccc.edu ending.

The login page will look like this:

Screening Videos Remotely

Copyright restrictions, as well as bandwidth and authentication requirements, limit how videos can been screened for remote (online) classes and events. Films in the Kanopy and AVON databases do not allow for streaming for a synchronous viewing via teleconferencing software such as Zoom. Below are a few suggested workarounds:

  • Have students watch the required video on their own prior to class. Remind them that they will need to log in with their CCC credentials to watch any movie in Kanopy or AVON.

  • If students are required to watch clips of videos, consider posting the permanent links to these in the in your course site to be viewed on their own. If your preference is for students to watch the clip/s in class, consider using the chat feature to share the permanent links to clips so that students can watch on their own during class and then return to the group to discuss.

  • Have students watch a full-length video on their own during class and use the chat box in Zoom to comment, discuss, etc. Each student will need to log into the database from which the video is being viewed with their own CCC credential.

Adapted from Duke University's Learning Innovation Blog

Kanopy Video Request

Use this form to submit a request for access to a film in the Kanopy streaming database. Please be aware that Kanopy films are for academic use and can only be requested by faculty, staff or student organizations for use in HW courses or events limited to the CCC community.