Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HWC Newsletter: May 2022: Home

Harold Washington College Library Newsletter * May 2022

Harold Washington College Library Newsletter * May 2022

As the semester comes to an end, we are sending best wishes to all the HWC 2021-2022 graduates! We hope you are able to enjoy this accomplishment. For those who continue on their education journey, a reminder that the Library is closed during the interim and will reopen on Wednesday, June 8. Our summer hours will be Monday - Thursday, 8:00AM - 5:00PM. We look forward to seeing you then. Wishing everyone a safe and enjoyable summer!

Image Credits: Loop College graduate (staring into the future), photograph by Dorothy Pygon, Harold Washington College Library Archives, 1977.

Chat Reference Hours

Librarians are available via chat Monday through Sunday from 10 am to 10 pm. The chat box feature will open on the lower right corner of any library page including the main CCC Libraries information page.

 

Screen capture of the CCC Libraries Homepage with links to the individual campus libraries.

 

On the HWC Library homepage, you can also chat with a librarian by clicking on the blue "Chat With A Librarian" button on the left side of the page.

Faculty Collaboration

Are you in need of more online library support for you and / or your students? Are you interested in transitioning from traditional course textbooks to open educational resources (OER) and other non-textbook course materials? The Library can help!

Summer is an excellent time for us to create and/or curate library content for your fall classes, so please reach out to us about the research projects you will be assigning.  

Study Break Station

If you're in the library during finals week, visit our Study Break Station in the southeast corner (next to 501A/B). There, you'll find jigsaw puzzles, coloring sheets, origami paper, and other activities to relax with in between study sessions. 

Featured Database: Peterson's Test and Career Prep

Access prep materials for CLEP, GRE, TOEFL, vocational entrance exams, and much more through Peterson's Test and Career Prep. The database also includes information to help individuals explore colleges and universities as well as careers. Peterson's Test and Career Prep is part of the library's collection of online resourcesRemember that to access library databases remotely, you will need to log in with your CCC username (do not include the @student.ccc.edu part) and password. To access materials in this database, you will also be prompted to create an account with Peterson's.

Finals Week Support

Whether you're looking for academic support, organizational tools, or ways to relax during Finals Week, the HWC Library has you covered. Our Final Exams Week Support LibGuide includes a variety of selected resources to help get you through the end of the semester.  

Returning Library Books

Mark your calendars! All library books are due by Monday, May 9, 2022. To avoid overdue and lost book fines, please return any books you have checked out this semester to the Library by the deadline. If you have a lost a book, please contact the library to find out how to replace the item or pay a replacement fee. You can call us at (312) 553-5760 or emailing.

Library Request Forms

Schedule Library Instruction (for HWC faculty)

Schedule A Research Consultation (for all HWC community)

Suggest A Purchase (for all HWC community)

Request an Interlibrary Loan (for all HWC community)

Finals Week Movies in the Library

Movie poster for Jean Cocteau's Beauty and the Beast

Playing Tuesday, May 10 at 1:00PM in 501K.

Playing Wednesday, May 11 at 1:00PM in 501K.

Movie poster of Downtown 81.

Playing Thursday, May 12 at 1:00PM in 501K.

Playing Friday, May 13 at 1:00PM in 501K.

Pop-Up Library

The Library is popping up around the College! On April 6, we launched our Pop-Up Library project on the second floor across from the atrium seating area. We'll be on the first floor near the escalators on Tuesday, May 10 from noon to 2:00PM if you need some Finals Week help from a librarian. Keep an eye out for announcements of future appearances around the College!

We're on Instagram!

Connect with us on Instagram @hwc_library for news and information about resources, events, and more at the HWC Library.

Past Newsletters

Take a look at our previous newsletters for any information you might have missed.

Contact Us

 Contact Us | 312-553-5760 | 30 E. Lake Street, 5th Floor | Chicago, IL 60601