Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Library!
This guide brings together resources to help you complete your research paper. If you have questions about library resources while you are working on this assignment, feel free to contact the library! You can set up an appointment to meet with a librarian via Zoom. You can chat with a librarian by using the chat box on this page or in the library catalog and databases.
Katie Ediger, Truman College Library Department Chair
Starting Your Research
The Library Discovery Tool is a great place to start your research. Search for both books and digital resources (like articles) here. You will be prompted to login with your CCC username and password.
Other Databases to Try
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Covers hottest social issues, such as offshore drilling, climate change, health care, and immigration. Has full text, editor selected articles. Helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of information for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
Available through EBSCOHost, this database with cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers with selective full text of more than 330 regional US newspapers.
MLA Style: Website
General information about formatting papers according to MLA guidelines. It also provides a sample MLA formatted cover page.
Formatting assistance directly from the MLA Style Center. This page includes information on margins, text formatting, etc.
MLA Handbook by
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. More than just a new edition, this is a new MLA style.