LibGuides: English 101: Home

Welcome to the Library!

Hello Everyone,

This guide brings together resources to help you complete your research paper. If you have questions about library resources while you are working on this assignment, feel free to contact the library! You can set up an appointment to meet with a librarian via Zoom. You can chat with a librarian by using the chat box on this page or in the library catalog and databases.

Thanks,
Katie Ediger, Truman College Library Department Chair

English 101 Library Presentation

Starting Your Research

The Library Catalog is a great place to start your research. Search for both books and digital resources (like articles) here. You will be prompted to login with your CCC username and password.

Databases to Try

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
General database of academic journals in the sciences and humanities. Includes full text scholarly / peer-reviewed articles.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers hottest social issues, such as offshore drilling, climate change, health care, and immigration. Has full text, editor selected articles. Helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of information for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.

New York Times Website and App
Follow the directions on this guide to sign up for a free New York Times account!

ProQuest Newsstream (1980 - current) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Newsstream offers recent U.S. news content going back to 1980.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.

Publication Finder
Search for a periodical publication title (i.e. journal, magazine or newspaper) to find out if it is available in full-text in a subscription database, and what coverage is available
Library Databases A-Z Find the best library databases for your research, listed in alphabetical order.

English 101

Contact the Library

Ask a Librarian Chat

Truman College Librarian

Welcome to the Library!

Starting Your Research

Databases to Try