Reference (Search these databases for general information and overviews on your topic.):
Subject-Specific Articles:
Articles on Current Debate Topics (Browse the health section or enter your specific current issue.):
Health Science Videos:
All of Health: A Philosophical Dialogue by
In a warm and enjoyable dialogue the meaning of health, in its fullest sense, becomes a philosophical issue as much as a biological. For isn't the essence of health a general sense of well-being? Health can be seen as reflecting satisfaction with our quality of life; but how do we achieve that? Here, a character who is heading off for a job teaching health has an extended conversation with a trusted mentor, and they test various definitions, various visions, and some of the infinite possibilities of the idea of health, in the process coming to a deeper and more invigorating understanding of life itself. They arrive at the notion of symbiosis - a living together to the advantage of each. And isn't a good conversation a sort of living together to the advantage of each? In such dialogue, we engage with our hearts and minds. When are we more alive than that? What is the peak of health if not this life, this engagement? The two friends want to know what health is. But they want more: They want to be healthy. They see three basic types of health - bodily, mental, and societal. These three types affect one another. How they affect one another matters in a critical way. But there is more. A friendly conversation allows special access to what is critical. Our guard is down in such a conversation. We are less likely to be defensive. We are more likely to keep our minds open and clear. We are likely to feel the confidence it takes to learn.
New Approaches in Biological Research by
Biological science primarily deals with the morphology, physiology and biochemistry of living organisms, including their distribution, taxonomy, evolution, structure, growth, function and metabolism. All living organisms undergo metabolism, maintain homeostasis, have the capacity to grow, respond to stimuli, communicate through various means, reproduce and adapt to their environment through natural selection. The organisms that photosynthesise are the primary producers and represent life support systems from aesthetics to food to medicine. The book deals with the topics pertaining to biotechnology, molecular biology, ecology, plant pathology, bionanotechnology and stress biology. Technology-assisted research had led to the evolution of new disciplines of biological sciences with narrow specialisation. The requirement of food, medicines, natural products, the quest to resolve and develop a better understanding of life and other biological processes need to conserve genes, plants and ecosystems; the apprehension of land, water and the environment have led to the strengthening of traditional disciplines as well as the emergence of diverse disciplines such as stress biology, molecular biology, biotechnology and bioinformatics. The chapters in this book impart the recent developments and the state-of-the art knowledge in biological sciences. In addition, this book provides newer techniques and uses for these tools in achieving the potential of biotechnology to understand some of the basic problems in biological sciences.
Introduction to Quantitative Cell Biology by
For the past decade or more, much of cell biology research has been focused on determining the key molecules involved in different cellular processes, an analytical problem that has been amenable to biochemical and genetic approaches. Now, we face an integrative problem of understanding how all of these molecules work together to produce living cells, a challenge that requires using quantitative approaches to model the complex interactions within a cell, and testing those models with careful quantitative measurements. This book is an introductory overview of the various approaches, methods, techniques, and models employed in quantitative cell biology, which are reviewed in greater detail in the other volumes in this e-book series. Particular emphasis is placed on the goals and purpose of quantitative analysis and modeling, and the special challenges that cell biology holds for understanding life at the physical level.
Faculty of Color in the Health Professions by
This book provides the first in-depth examination of the experiences of a large sampling of faculty members of color in nursing, medicine, pharmacy, and dentistry schools across the United States. Anchoring her study in grounded theory, Dena Hassouneh draws on extraordinary interviews with one hundred diverse faculty members--together with rich contextual data--to illuminate the deeply entrenched cultural and institutional challenges to equity that they confront. She also presents practical strategies to overcome those challenges. The book documents the ways in which faculty members of color are excluded from full participation in their laboratory or department; yet Hassouneh's research shows that faculty of color can survive and even thrive. The interviews and data clearly reveal both the social, educational, and departmental contexts that determine satisfaction and success in recruitment and advancement and the impact that faculty of color have had on their students, peers, patients, schools, and communities.
Unaffordable: American Healthcare From Johnson to Trump by
Written for nonexperts, this is a brisk, engaging history of American healthcare from the advent of Medicare and Medicaid in the 1960s to the impact of the Affordable Care Act in the 2010s. Step by step, Jonathan Engel shows how we arrived at our present convoluted situation, where generic drugs prices can jump 1,000 percent in a day and primary care physicians can lose 20 percent of their income at the stroke of a Congressional pen. Unaffordable covers, in a conversational style punctuated by apt examples, topics ranging from health insurance, pharmaceutical pricing, and physician training to health maintenance organizations and hospital networks. Along the way, Engel introduces approaches that other nations have taken in organizing and paying for healthcare and offers insights on ethical quandaries around end-of-life decisions, neonatal care, life-sustaining treatments, and the limits of our ability to define death. While describing the political origins of many of the federal and state laws that govern our healthcare system today, he never loses sight of the impact that healthcare delivery has on our wallets and on the balance sheets of hospitals, doctors' offices, government agencies, and private companies.
LGBT Health: Meeting the Needs of Gender and Sexual Minorities by
LGBT Health: Meeting the Needs of Gender and Sexual Minorities offers a first-of-its-kind, comprehensive view of mental, medical, and public health conditions within the LGBT community. This book examines the health outcomes and risk factors that gender and sexual minority groups face while simultaneously providing evidence-based clinical recommendations and resources for meeting their health needs. Drawing from leading scholars and practitioners of LGBT health, this holistic, centralized text synthesizes epidemiologic, medical, psychological, sociological, and public health research related to the origins of, current state of, and ways to improve LGBT health. The award-winning editors have assembled LGBT health experts who have conducted extensive research into diverse areas of LGBT health. Sections guide the reader through the entire spectrum of LGBT health, from the historical roots of LGBT health research all the way to modern, emerging lines of inquiry to improve health among diverse gender and sexual minority groups. Specific groundbreaking coverage includes such populations as LGBT veterans; reproductive health and parenting; sexual minority persons living with chronic illness and disability, and more. This encompassing volume serves as a go-to reference, a call to action, and a guide for anyone involved in researching and improving the health of LGBT populations. KEY FEATURESSynthesizes research from the psychological, sociological, medical, and public health fields into a comprehensive discussion of LGBT healthCovers the continuum of health from antecedents and sociocultural determinants through specific evidence-based approaches for improving outcomesIncludes specific focus on a wide range of health outcomes, including topics often neglected in the field such as reproductive health and parenting, intimate partner violence, cancer, and other chronic diseasesSpecifically investigates a variety of LGBT subgroups and their unique health needs including for LGBT veterans, transgender men and women, and racial and ethnic minorities who are LGBTPowerPoint slides with discussion questions available for qualified Instructors
101 Careers in Healthcare Management by
101 Careers in Healthcare Management, Second Edition continues to be the only comprehensive guide to careers in health administration, ranging from entry-level management positions to the most senior executive opportunities. The second edition has been updated throughout and includes three new chapters that will assist students and healthcare managers alike. Additional content includes a quick historical overview of the field including its growth and transformation, essential traits that will prepare a professional for career change and advancement, and a call for new leadership competencies which every job candidate should adopt and master in a rapidly adapting industry. The book includes more than 40 new interviews spanning those in entry-level positions to CEOs that reflect a greater diversity of careers and demographics in an evolving job market. Based on the most current data from the U.S. Department of Labor and professional societies in healthcare management, this guide describes careers in acute and long-term care, physician practices, international and government organizations, commercial insurance, consulting firms, executive search firms, pharmaceuticals and biotechnology, medical devices, public health organizations, information technology and informatics, and regulatory agencies. In each setting, experts explain job responsibilities, educational requirements, opportunities, and traditional and nontraditional career pathways. Authored by two senior and highly respected leaders in health administration education and written in clear, jargon-free text, the second edition, like its predecessor, is easy-to-navigate and now offers even more insider advice for students of healthcare management, career-changers, and those working in the field who are considering career advancement. NEW TO THIS EDITION: New chapters on A Brief History of Healthcare Management, Preparation and Professionalism, and Leadership Competencies for an Uncertain FutureOver 40 new interviews with healthcare managers who have changed careers or have advanced in their professional tracks
Co-Occurring Mental Illness and Substance Use Disorders A Guide to Diagnosis and Treatment by
Co-occurring Mental Illness and Substance Use Disorders: A Guide to Diagnosis and Treatment provides a clinically detailed, evidence-based, and exhaustive examination of a topic rarely plumbed in psychiatry texts, despite the fact that co-occurring mental illness and substance use disorders are common. The authors argue for a more holistic and integrated approach, calling for clinicians to tactfully but persistently evaluate patients for a broad range of co-occurring disorders before determining appropriate treatment. Focusing on a substance use disorder in isolation, without determining whether another psychiatric disorder is co-occurring, can doom treatment efforts, and the reverse also is true. To help clinicians keep the big picture in mind, the book is organized around 18 cases, each of which addresses a particular diagnostic skill (e.g., assessment), group of disorders commonly comorbid with substance use disorders (e.g., PTSD, eating disorders), specific treatment (e.g., pharmacological interventions), or special population (e.g., adolescents). This case-based approach makes it easy for readers to understand strategies and master transferable techniques when dealing with their own patients. * Because the initial face-to-face sessions are especially important with this patient population, the book includes chapters on the diagnostic assessment and the initial interview, as well as offering interviewing tips throughout to help the clinician develop the necessary care and skill in this arena. Also included is a chapter on integrating motivational interviewing into the treatment.* Each of the 18 cases stands alone, allowing the reader flexibility in using the text. For example, the 18 cases and discussions can be read sequentially, or as needed, depending on the reader's special interest or current need. * The book also features chapters on how to effectively work with patients whose disorders might be affecting other members of a patient's family, since the likelihood of a successful outcome is enhanced if an integrated treatment plan is developed for their co-occurring disorders.* The questions that accompany each chapter can be used as an organizational tool prior to reading or to test knowledge and comprehension afterward.* The text is completely up-to date and provides DSM-5 diagnostic information essential to each case. Co-occurring Mental Illness and Substance Use Disorders: A Guide to Diagnosis and Treatment offers a straightforward approach to people with complicated presentations, offering mental health clinicians the skills they require to effectively assess, diagnose, and treat these patients and their families.
Enhancing Health and Wellbeing in Dementia by
Every person living with dementia is entitled to the highest standards of wellbeing and health and social care services. This in-depth, evidence-based book identifies how outstanding quality integrated care might be achieved, whether in residential or home-based settings. Experienced dementia researcher Dr Shibley Rahman highlights the key contemporary underpinnings of integrated care that are required for wellbeing for living with dementia, including technology, staff performance, leadership, and intelligent regulation of services. The book addresses the major challenges to promoting person-centred care, and tackles difficult conversations around spirituality, sexuality and dying well. The crucial importance of promoting physical and mental health is emphasised. Taking into account recent developments in NICE guidelines and Cochrane reviews for dementia, this book presents an opportunity for all those involved in the provision of care for people with dementia to maintain a focus on delivering the best care possible, and to engage with the wider issues surrounding wellbeing. This book will be especially useful to commissioners following the NHS 'new models of care' "vanguards".
Over the Influence, Second Edition by
"Just say no" just doesn't work for everyone. If you've tried to quit and failed, simply want to cut down, or wish to work toward sobriety gradually, join the many thousands of readers who have turned to this empathic, science-based resource--now thoroughly revised. A powerful alternative to abstinence-only treatments, harm reduction helps you set and meet your own goals for gaining control over alcohol and drugs. Step by step, the expert authors guide you to determine: *Which aspects of your habits may be harmful. *How to protect your safety and make informed choices. *What changes you would like to make. *How to put your intentions into action. *When it's time to seek help--and where to turn. Updated to reflect a decade's worth of research, the fully revised second edition is even more practical. It features additional vivid stories and concrete examples, engaging graphics, new worksheets (which you can download and print for repeated use), "Self-Reflection" boxes, and more. Mental health professionals, see also the authors' Practicing Harm Reduction Psychotherapy, Second Edition.
Opioid Epidemic by
Pediatric Collections offers what you need to know - original, focused research in a snapshot approach. The opioid crisis, fueled by too many prescriptions and too little oversight, has become far more serious than some of the other epidemics the country has faced. The articles in this collection focus on the manifestations of the opioid epidemic in children and adolescents, such as the increased rate of neonatal abstinence syndrome (NAS), teens increased risk of opioid abuse after legitimate opioid use, and the hopeful evidence that sports and exercise participation by adolescents lowers their risk of abusing opioids or heroin. This collection of timely AAP journal articles, blog posts, and policy explores the risks and possible solutions. The collection is structured with the articles grouped under these major topic headings: Exposure Prescribed Use and Misuse Treatment and Prevention
Clinical Examination and Applied Medicine, Volume I : Gastroenterology Series by
This is the first in a series of books dealing simultaneously with examination technique with detail pathophysiological principles, differential diagnosis and clinical interpretation, along with applied medicine about the common gastrointestinal diseases. Medical students or postgraduates will learn history taking, clinical examination and find relevant applied medical knowledge needed for bedside assessment of the patient. The hope is that the book will guide towards a correct diagnosis by history and examination, but also provide relevant differential diagnosis, localize the disease and identify the cause. This book intends to fill this gap and inspire the reader to gain confidence not only in the performance of the examination but also to answer most bedside queries and problems. It will serve as an indispensable resource for preparation of undergraduate and postgraduate viva and short and long case examination. This text is not a replacement for standard textbooks on the subject, but should serve as collection of facts and relevant details in the clinical assessment of the patient. This book is complemented by a second volume, in which numerous diagrams and figures have been included to stimulate understanding and learning along with a picture test and MCQ.
Sports Medicine in the Pediatric Office by
The second edition of this best-selling pediatric sports medicine resource provides step-by-step demonstrations of the examination and evaluation techniques for common sports injuries. The book includes more than 100 images, plus 2+ hours of video covering physical examination keys; when to order radiographs, CT scans, and MRIs; treatment plan development; case-based coverage of common injuries, including ankle and foot, knee and lower leg, shoulder, wrist and elbow, hip and spine, and concussions and preventive strategies. This all encompassing resource allows you to: Walk through case studies that highlight the issues most commonly seen at specific stages of development. View examinations and tests that can help you identify the extent and location of injury. See demonstrations of preventive strengthening exercises. Use proven approaches to diagnosing and managing sports injuries to improve your practice. Learn which test results to obtain and when. And more! New features All chapters fully reviewed and updated New chapter on Trends in Prevention of Sports Injury in the Young Athlete 5 new sport-specific chapters on Soccer Baseball Collision sports (football, hockey, lacrosse, and rugby) Gymnastics Running Chapters provide Overview of the sport(s) Overview of the sport history and demographic information in young athletes Cases-based scenarios that highlight the major issues in the sport Suggestions on how pediatric health professionals can ensure the safest sport experience in the sport
Breast Surgery: Indications and Techniques by
Breast surgery is the surgical treatment of breast diseases. Its fields of application are particularly breast cancer therapy and the plastic-reconstructive time that follows. Oncological surgery is one of the most important stages of breast cancer therapy. The history of breast interventions, known since ancient times, has been marked by several moments coincident with the evolution of medical knowledge and with some important discoveries in this field. After thousands of years, this allowed for a type of intervention that, in the utmost respect for physical integrity, offers women a concrete chance of healing. The outcome of breast cancer surgery, with respect to cosmetic results, loco-regional control, and prognostic information from nodal staging may vary substantially. Optimal breast cancer care starts with a proper surgical act, which can only be performed when optimal imaging and preoperative diagnosis are available. Next, on the basis of all perioperative findings, the right surgical procedure should be indicated after multidisciplinary consultation and discussion, keeping the objective of the final outcome in mind. The surgical act itself is best performed by an experienced surgeon who has maintained their experience after sufficient training. The outcome of the different procedures can be measured according to simple criteria and prospective registration.
Rest Uneasy: Sudden Infant Death Syndrome in Twentieth-ÂCentury America by
Tracing the Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) diagnosis from its mid-century origins through the late 1900s, Rest Uneasy investigates the processes by which SIDS became both a discrete medical enigma and a source of social anxiety construed differently over time and according to varying perspectives. American medicine reinterpreted and reconceived of the problem of sudden infant death multiple times over the course of the twentieth century. Its various approaches linked sudden infant deaths to all kinds of different causes--biological, anatomical, environmental, and social. In the context of a nation increasingly skeptical, yet increasingly expectant, of medicine, Americans struggled to cope with the paradoxes of sudden infant death; they worked to admit their powerlessness to prevent SIDS even while they tried to overcome it. Brittany Cowgill chronicles and assesses Americans' fraught but consequential efforts to explain and conquer SIDS, illuminating how and why SIDS has continued to cast a shadow over doctors and parents.
A Multidisciplinary Handbook of Child and Adolescent Mental Health for Front-Line Professionals, Third Edition by
This handbook provides a succinct introduction to child mental health, covering the nature, prevalence, treatment and management of mental health problems in children and young people. The authors explore a range of issues surrounding the emotional needs of young people, showing how specific problems such as ADHD and learning difficulties can be targeted, while also recognising diversity issues and paying particular attention to at-risk groups. This edition is updated to reflect current direction in services, cutting edge approaches to interventions in primary health care, teaching and social service settings, as well as incorporating children's views on what mental health means to them and the impact of social media. Setting out ways in which young people can be supported by all practitioners in primary care, and covering early years through to late adolescence, the authors have created an invaluable resource for any front-line practitioner working in this area.
Mental Health Care of Children and Adolescents by
This indispensable resource provides primary care clinicians with a framework for addressing pediatric mental health problems in the primary care practice. It offers guidance on practice enhancements and on clinical care of patients with identified mental health concerns, signs and symptoms, as well as common disorders. Topics Include: Integrating preventive mental health care into pediatric practice Pediatric care of children and adolescents with mental health problems Office and network systems to support mental health care Partnering to improve community mental health systems Psychosocial therapies Triage for psychiatric emergencies Use of psychotropic medications in primary care Care of children with common mental health concerns, signs and symptoms Assessment and care of children with unexplained medical symptoms And more...
Evidence-Based Practice in Action by
One of the biggest challenges of evidence-based practice (EBP) is translating knowledge, research, and clinical expertise into action. Failure to execute EBP well is rarely due to lack of information, understanding, or experience; rather, it comes down to lack of tools and practicality for implementing EBP into care. Evidence-Based Practice in Action is a unique, application-oriented EBP resource of The Iowa Model Revised: Evidence-Based Practice to Promote Excellence in Health Care. This book offers a detailed plan to guide nurses and healthcare leaders in promoting EBP adoption and implementation. This practical, easy-to-use guide directs healthcare leaders through preparing, implementing, and evaluating any EBP process model and provides tools for topic selection, literature searches, research and evidence review, implementation, and evaluation. The authors provide comprehensive building blocks along with strategies, tools, and tips to guide individuals and teams who make the important day-to-day decisions that ultimately affect patient outcomes. Book jacket.
Simulation Scenarios for Nursing Educators, Third Edition by
When employed as a substitute for real clinical time, simulation scenarios have proven effective in bridging the gap between theory and practice. This acclaimed text for nursing faculty provides detailed, step-by-step guidance on all aspects of clinical simulation. Appropriate for all levels of nursing students, from pre-licensure to doctoral level, the book contains the authors' own advice and experiences working in simulation around the globe. For the third edition, 20 new scenarios have been added, for a total of 57. All scenarios have been updated to adhere to best-practice simulation standards for design, facilitator and participant criteria, interprofessional criteria, and debriefing processes. Scenarios are presented in a structured format that includes objectives, pre-scenario checklists, implementation plans, evaluation criteria, debriefing guidelines, and recommendations for further use. A template for creating scenarios spans the text and includes student preparation materials, forms to enhance the realness of the scenario, and checklists for practice assessment and evaluation. This comprehensive resource covers geriatric, pediatric, trauma, obstetric, and community-based patient scenarios. This revised edition includes scenarios easily adaptable to an instructor's own lab, an international perspective, and a section on graduate nursing education. New to the Third Edition: 20 brand new scenarios in anesthesia, midwifery, pediatric, disaster, and other specialty-focused situations, plus five new chaptersUpdated to encompass new simulation pedagogy including best-practice standardsNew scenarios easily adapted to an instructor's own labInterprofessional and international scenarios focused on areas of global concern: obstetric hemorrhage, neonatal hypoglycemia, and deteriorating patients Key Features: Includes information on how to integrate simulation into curriculaAddresses conceptual and theoretical foundations of simulation in nursing education, including an expanded chapter on the Framework for Simulation Learning in Nursing EducationIncludes a wide variety of practical scenarios in ready-to-use format with instructionsProvides a template for scenario developmentDelivers recommendations for integration of point-of-care decision-making toolsOffers opportunities for enhancing complexity and incorporating interprofessional competencies
Research for Advanced Practice Nurses by
The third edition of this award-winning text delivers the full treasury of tools that graduate nursing students and advanced practice registered nurses (APRNs) need to translate clinical research into practice. In the current health care landscape, APRNs are challenged to provide patient-centered care that is effective, safe, efficient, equitable, and evidence based. Building knowledge and skills in evidence-based practice (EBP) is imperative to successfully meet this challenge and improve patient outcomes. The text describes essential ways to implement EBP in clinical practice, including how to search for and evaluate various forms of evidence, design questionnaires and data-collection forms, and analyze qualitative and quantitative data. The authors offer guidelines for evaluating research articles and a variety of EBP activities and protocols that show how to integrate EBP into multiple clinical settings suitable for all APRN areas of practice. Step-by-step instruction walks readers through the process of finding relevant evidence, appraising evidence, and translating evidence into practice to improve patient care and outcomes. The authors continue the great work of Magdalena Mateo, who created the earlier editions upon which this revision is based. NEW TO THE THIRD EDITION: Expands information about practice scholarshipProvides new strategies for program evaluationDescribes frameworks for implementation science and EBPOffers practical steps and tools for seeking, appraising, and applying evidence into practice KEY FEATURES: Integrates EBP concepts related to patient careIdentifies the requisite knowledge and skills for practice scholarshipDescribes practical strategies and tools for seeking and appraising evidence and applying it in practiceIntegrates clinically relevant examples that highlight the application of evidence into practice to improve outcomes
Adult-Gerontology Nurse Practitioner Certification Intensive Review, Third Edition by
Note to Readers: Publisher does not guarantee quality or access to any included digital components if book is purchased through a third-party seller. Now with a free mobile & web app with print purchase Doody's Medical Review: 100 Points; 5 Stars (First Edition) The third edition of this highly acclaimed review continues to promote efficient, time-saving study by synthesizing the complex knowledge needed to pass the AGNP exam into a concise, well-organized format. It is updated with key information about the new AGNP certification exam, including new test format questions featuring photos of skin and eye conditions and EKGs, and more challenging drag-and-drop and multiple-choice questions. Also new to the third edition is information about nonclinical topics on the exam including research; culture, spirituality, and health practices; evidence-based medicine; epidemiology; and reimbursement guidelines. One hundred new review questions throughout the book and on the practice exam--including answer key and rationale--increase the total number of questions to 680. Designed to help NP students boost their confidence through intensive study and high-quality questions, the third edition features a succinct, precisely targeted review of diseases commonly seen in primary care. It covers the complete adult life span from adolescence onward, and offers extensive test-taking techniques and question dissection and analysis sections that provide strategies for identifying the best clues during the problem-solving process. Organized by body system, sections are consistently formatted and encompass Danger Signals, Normal Findings, Lab Findings, Benign Variants, Differential Diagnosis, and individual Disease Review topics for each system. Additional outstanding features include Exam Tips and Clinical Pearls that help to focus system study on key information. NEW TO THE THIRD EDITIONUpdated information reflecting the new AGNP certification examNew test format questions used by the AANC, including photos of skin and eye conditions, EKGs, and more complex drag-and-drop and multiple-choice questions100 new in-depth review questions for a total of 680Additional information about nonclinical topics including culture, spirituality, and health practices; evidence-based medicine; and more KEY FEATURESProvides a succinct, precisely targeted review of diseases commonly seen in primary careDelineates strategic "question dissection techniques" for study success developed by the authorIncludes Exam Tips and Clinical Pearls to help prioritize and interpret test contentOutlines Normal Findings and Benign Variants in physical assessment of each body systemOffers intensive pharmacology review App included Includes all the high-quality content from the book Information at your fingertips anytime, anywhere.Available on iOS, Android, and the web, with a powerful, simple-to-use interface.APP INCLUDED WITH PRINT PURCHASE
Pathways to a Nursing Education Career, Second Edition by
First Edition Winner of the Journal of Nursing Education's Top Teaching Tools Award This award-winning text presents top-notch guidance and a host of practical tools for nursing clinicians transitioning into a faculty role. The second edition is updated to address the many significant innovations taking place in nursing education and how they affect the faculty role including expanding emphasis on interprofessional education, increasing use of interactive teaching strategies and technology enhanced learning, acquiring research funding in a competitive environment, and the growing importance of fostering faculty leadership and succession. Enriching new chapter features include examples of tools, rubrics, and strategies to illustrate concept application; "Getting Started" callouts offering "first step" strategies/activities to help novice educators apply chapter concepts in their faculty role €"also serving as ready-made faculty assignments. The second edition also includes real life case examples that guide novice educators in managing common challenges in academia. Extensive resources, strategies and tips along with guidance for self-assessment help new educators to adapt and even excel during the challenging first year in a faculty role. Content New to the Second Edition: Discusses key changes and challenges in the nursing profession, health care, higher education, and nursing educationCovers teaching in interprofessional education environmentsAddresses teaching in technology enhanced learning environments and evolving curricular modelsExplains how to establish teaching €œpresence €Emphasizes developing faculty leaders and leadership successionAddresses acquiring funding to support researchIncludes new chapter on establishing student-faculty relationships Key Features: Delivers proven strategies to help novice educators assume the faculty roleProvides real-life case studies describing how to manage common challengesIncludes resources, tips, and strategies on navigating the first faculty yearHelps novice educators to engage in self-assessment to determine €œbest fit € in the academic environment
Chemical Health Threats: Assessing and Alerting by
This book covers recent developments in the implementation of a European collaboration for assessing cross-border toxicological threats. It discusses the European guidelines for the risk assessment and management of serious international public health dangers. It covers REACH (Registration, Evaluation, Authorisation & restriction of Chemicals) directives and the work of the ASHT (Alerting System for Chemical Health Threats) project. It is applicable to regulators, toxicologists, poisons centres, industrialists and COSHH (Control of Substances Hazardous to Health) specialists.