Skip to Main Content

Latin American and Latinx Studies Resources

A guide for finding print and digital resources relevant to Latin American and Latinx Studies at Wilbur Wright College

Best Bets

Academic Search Complete

General database of academic journals in the sciences and humanities. Includes full-text scholarly, peer-reviewed articles.
Latino American Experience

Dedicated to the rich heritage and current culture of Latinos in the United States.

Contains reference articles, timelines, images, videos, primary sources, periodicals, etc.

Gale Virtual Reference Center

Search for topic overviews here. Subjects include arts, sciences, medicine, and the humanities.

Multidisciplinary database of full text encyclopedias and reference sources for research and ready reference. 

eBook Collection EBSCOhost

 Features a broad range of full-text book titles across a variety of disciplines.

Proquest Databases and Newspapers

ProQuest eBooks

 

1. ProQuest Ebook Central: Electronic books covering a wide variety of academic and professional subject areas.
2. ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune‎ (1849 - 1991)
3. ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender‎ (1909 - 1975)
4. ProQuest Newsstream (1980 - current): ProQuest Newsstream offers recent U.S. news content going back to 1980.
5. Ethnic NewsWatch: Ethnic and minority publications - journal articles
Subject Area(s):‎ News & Newspapers, Literature & Language, Social Sciences, History, The Arts

 

Using Subscription Databases

Our database subscriptions allow for access to copyrighted content including academic journals, eBooks, magazines, newspapers, etc. Not every database can be used to answer every research question.

  • On campus we are logged in automatically. Off-campus, you need to log in with your CCC credentials.
  • Use keywords  in combination to get the most relevant results
    • Colombia AND religion
    • Colombia AND Catholic church
    • Colombia AND (religion or Catholic church)
    • Colombia AND Catholic church AND history
  • Generally, the databases will look in the title, abstract, and subject terms (these are standardized tags that describe the topics discussed) to provide results. Avoid words like what, in, the, how, etc.
  • Select peer-reviewed to limit to scholarly articles.
  • Many databases provide full-text access as well as abstract-only access. Always click full-text if given the option!
  • Change the date range to get more recent results.

Search the Catalog

Featured Content - Video

El Abuelo es una película española de 1998 dirigida por José Luis Garci. Se trata de un patriarca y su intento de descubrir cuál de sus nietas nació fuera del matrimonio -- y cuál herederá su fortuna y nombre. El choque cultural entre lo tradicional y lo bohemio revela un cruel contraste entre el honor y la honra. Accede a toda la película en Radio y Televisión Española o en Gloria TV. Se puede leer una reseña en RIRCA.