2000 Years of Mayan Literature by
Mayan literature is among the oldest in the world, spanning an astonishing two millennia from deep pre-Columbian antiquity to the present day. Here, for the first time, is a fully illustrated survey, from the earliest hieroglyphic inscriptions to the works of later writers using the Roman alphabet. Dennis Tedlock--ethnographer, linguist, poet, and award-winning author--draws on decades of living and working among the Maya to assemble this groundbreaking book, which is the first to treat ancient Mayan texts as literature. Tedlock considers the texts chronologically. He establishes that women were among the ancient writers and challenges the idea that Mayan rulers claimed the status of gods. 2000 Years of Mayan Literature expands our understanding and appreciation not only of Mayan literature but of indigenous American literature in its entirety.
Magical Realism and Deleuze : The Indiscernibility of Difference in Postcolonial Literature by
Since the success of Gabriel García Márquez's 1967 novel One Hundred Years of Solitude, and the following Latin American literary 'boom' of the late sixties and seventies, magical realism has had a steady following, an international influence and become established as a literary genre. Yet its definition has remained vague.Through the philosophy of Gilles Deleuze, this study rethinks magical realism, making an argument for using Deleuzian readings of literature in general while dealing with the implications of a new approach for prevalent postcolonial studies in particular.With One Hundred Years of Solitude used as a model, Eva Aldea takes a Deleuzian approach to major anglophone works by Rushdie, Okri, Morrison, and Ghosh. She shows how the power of magical realism lies not, as is commonly held, in its subversion of the real and the magical, but in allowing the two to remain radically different and yet indiscernible at the same time, challenging existing readings of the genre.
The Haitian Revolution in the Literary Imagination by
The Haitian Revolution (1791-1804) reshaped the debates about slavery and freedom throughout the Atlantic world, accelerated the abolitionist movement, precipitated rebellions in neighboring territories, and intensified both repression and antislavery sentiment. The story of the birth of the world's first independent black republic has since held an iconic fascination for a diverse array of writers, artists, and intellectuals throughout the Atlantic diaspora. Examining twentieth-century responses to the Haitian Revolution, Philip Kaisary offers a profound new reading of the representation of the Revolution by radicals and conservatives alike in primary texts that span English, French, and Spanish languages and that include poetry, drama, history, biography, fiction, and opera. In a complementary focus on canonical works by Aimé Césaire, C. L. R. James, Edouard Glissant, and Alejo Carpentier in addition to the work of René Depestre, Langston Hughes, and Madison Smartt Bell, Kaisary argues that the Haitian Revolution generated an enduring cultural and ideological inheritance. He addresses critical understandings and fictional reinventions of the Revolution and thinks through how, and to what effect, authors of major diasporic texts have metamorphosed and appropriated this spectacular corner of black revolutionary history.
Bodies and Bones : Feminist Rehearsal and Imagining Caribbean Belonging by
In Bodies and Bones, Tanya Shields argues that a repeated engagement with the Caribbean's iconic and historic touchstones offers a new sense of (inter)national belonging that brings an alternative and dynamic vision to the gendered legacy of brutality against black bodies, flesh, and bone. Using a distinctive methodology she calls "feminist rehearsal" to chart the Caribbean's multiple and contradictory accounts of historical events, the author highlights the gendered and emergent connections between art, history, and belonging. By drawing on a significant range of genres--novels, short stories, poetry, plays, public statuary, and painting--Shields proposes innovative interpretations of the work of Grace Nichols, Pauline Melville, Fred D'Aguiar, Alejo Carpentier, Edwidge Danticat, Aimé Césaire, Marie-Hélène Cauvin, and Rose Marie Desruisseau. She shows how empathetic alliances can challenge both hierarchical institutions and regressive nationalisms and facilitate more democratic interaction.
Latin American Melodrama by
Like their Hollywood counterparts, Latin American film and TV melodramas have always been popular and highly profitable. The first of its kind, this anthology engages in a serious study of the aesthetics and cultural implications of Latin American melodramas. Written by some of the major figures in Latin American film scholarship, the studies range across seventy years of movies and television within a transnational context, focusing specifically on the period known as the "Golden Age" of melodrama, the impact of classic melodrama on later forms, and more contemporary forms of melodrama. An introductory essay examines current critical and theoretical debates on melodrama and places the essays within the context of Latin American film and media scholarship. Contributors are Luisela Alvaray, Mariana Baltar, Catherine L. Benamou, Marvin D'Lugo, Paula Félix-Didier, Andrés Levinson, Gilberto Perez, Darlene J. Sadlier, Cid Vasconcelos, and Ismail Xavier.
Latin American Novelists by
Latin American Novelists examines the lives and significant works of influential Hispanic writers such as Mario Vargas Llosa, Gabriel Garc¡a M rquez, Isabel Allende, Julio Cortazar, Manuel Puig, Ernesto Sabato and Clarice Lispector who made a lasting impact in their respective genres.
A Companion to Latin American Literature and Culture by
A Companion to Latin American Literature and Culture reflects the changes that have taken place in cultural theory and literary criticism since the latter part of the twentieth century. Written by more than thirty experts in cultural theory, literary history, and literary criticism, this authoritative and up-to-date reference places major authors in the complex cultural and historical contexts that have compelled their distinctive fiction, essays, and poetry. This allows the reader to more accurately interpret the esteemed but demanding literature of authors such as Jorge Luis Borges, Mario Vargas Llosa, Octavio Paz, and Diamela Eltit. Key authors whose work has defined a period, or defied borders, as in the cases of Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz, César Vallejo, and Gabriel García Márquez, are also discussed in historical and theoretical context. Additional essays engage the reader with in-depth discussions of forms and genres, and discussions of architecture, music, and film. This text provides the historical background to help the reader understand the people and culture that have defined Latin American literature and its reception. Each chapter also includes short selected bibliographic guides and recommendations for further reading.
Masterpieces of Latino Literature by
"Masterpieces of Latino Literature features critical summaries and descriptions of the greatest works of literature by Latino authors. All the important facts and dates of authorship, along with analyses of characters, settings, themes, and plots are included for works in every genre, including: autobiographies, novels, poetry, plays, essays, and short stories." "Containing works by authors of Latin heritage living in South, Central, and North America, this book covers everything from Jorge Amado's Dona Flor and Her Two Husbands to Manuel Puig's Kiss of the Spider Woman, from Carlos Castaneda's The Teachings of Don Juan to Julio Cortezar's Hopscotch, as well as works by many lesser-known writers." "The only reference of its kind, Masterpieces of Latino Literature is an indispensable guide for students and anyone interested in Latino history and culture."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Into the mainstream : conversations with Latin-American writers by
Collection of interviews with Alejo Carpentier, Miguel Angel Asturias, Jorge Luis Borges, Joao Guimaraes Rosa, Juan Carlos Onetti, Julio Cortázar, Juan Rulfo, Carlos Fuentes, Gabriel García Márquez, and Mario Vargas Llosa.
Reptant Eagle: Essays on Carlos Fuentes and the Art of the Novel by
Carlos Fuentes (1928-2012) was the most prominent novelist in contemporary Mexico and, until his recent death, one of the leading voices in Latin America's Boom generation. He received the most prestigious awards and prizes in the world, including the Latin Civilization Award (presented by the Presidents of Brazil, Mexico, and France), the Miguel de Cervantes Prize, and the Prince of Asturias Award. During his fecund and accomplished life as a writer, literary theorist, and political analyst, Fuentes turned his attention to the major conflicts of the twentieth century- from the Second World War and the Cuban Revolution, to the Soviet invasion of Czechoslovakia, the war in Vietnam, and the post-revolutionary crisis of the one-party rule in Mexico - and attended to their political and international importance in his novels, short fiction, and essays. Known for his experimentation in narrative techniques, and for novels and essays written in a global range that illuminate the conflicts of our times, Fuentes's writings have been rightfully translated into most of the world's languages. His literary work continues to spur and provoke the interest of a global readership on diverse civilizations and eras, from Imperial Spain and post-revolutionary France, to Ancient and Modern Mexico, the United States, and Latin America. The Reptant Eagle: Essays on Carlos Fuentes and the Art of the Novel includes nineteen essays and one full introduction written exclusively for this volume by renowned Fuentes scholars from Asia, Europe, the United States, and Latin America. Collected into five parts, the essays integrate wide-ranging methods and innovative readings of The Death of Artemio Cruz (1962), Aura (1962), Terra Nostra (1975) and, among other novels, Distant Relations (1980); they analyze the visual arts in Fuentes's novels (Diego Rivera's murals and world film); chart and comment on the translations of Fuentes's narratives into Japanese and Romanian; and propose comprehensive readings of The Buried Mirror (1992) and Personas (2012), Fuentes's posthumous book of essays. Beyond their comprehensive and interdisciplinary scope, the book's essays trace Fuentes's conscious resolve to contribute to the art of the novel and to its uninterrupted tradition, from Cervantes and Rabelais to Thomas Mann and Alejo Carpentier, and from the Boom generation to Latin America's "Boomerang" group of younger writers. This book will be of importance to literary critics, teachers, students, and readers interested in Carlos Fuentes's world-embracing literary work.
Latin American Fiction : A Short Introduction by
This book introduces readers to the evolution of modern fiction in Spanish-speaking Latin America. Presents Latin American fiction in its cultural and political contexts. Introduces debates about how to read this literature. Combines an overview of the evolution of modern Latin American fiction with detailed studies of key texts. Discusses authors such as Mario Vargas Llosa, Gabriel García Márquez, Jorge Luis Borges and Isabel Allende. Covers nation-building narratives, 'modernismo', the New Novel, the Boom, the Post-Boom, Magical Realism, Hispanic fiction in the USA, and more.
The Boom Feminino in Mexico by
The Boom Femenino in Mexico: Reading Contemporary Women's Writing is a collection of essays that focuses on literary production by women in Mexico over the last three decades. In its exploration of the boom femenino phenomenon, the book traces the history of the earlier boom in Latin American culture and investigates the implications of the use of the same term in the context of contemporary women's writing from Mexico. In this way it engages critically with the cultural, historical and literary significance of the term illuminating the concept for a wide range of readers. It is clear that the entry of so many women writers into an arena traditionally reserved for men has prompted discussion around concepts such as 'women's writing' and the very definition of 'literature' itself. Many of the contributors grapple with the theoretical tensions that such debates provoke offering an important opportunity to think critically about the texts produced during this period and the ways in which they have impacted on the Mexican and international cultural spheres. The project is comprehensive in its scope and, for the first time, brings together scholars from Mexico, the U.S. and Europe in a transnational forum. The book posits that despite certain aesthetic and thematic commonalities, the increased output by women writers in Mexico cannot be appraised as a unified literary movement. Instead it embraces a wide range of different generic forms and the subjects under study in the essays in the book include the best-selling work of Angeles Mastretta, Elena Poniatowska and Laura Esquivel as well as the social and political preoccupations of journalists, Rosanna Reguillo and Cristina Pacheco. Contributors offer readings of the aesthetic visions of writers as diverse as Carmen Boullosa, Ana Garcia Bergua, and Eve Gil while other essays examine the nuances of contemporary gender identity in the work of Ana Clavel, Sabina Berman, Brianda Domecq and Maria Luisa Puga. There are essays devoted to poetry by indigenous Mayan women and an analysis of the complex place of poetry within the broader framework of literary production. The problems that emerge as a result of literary cataloguing based on gender politics are also considered at length in a number of essays that take a panoramic view of literary production over the period. Various critical approaches are employed throughout and the collection as a whole demonstrates that academic interest in Mexican women's writing of the boom femenio is thriving. Above all, the essays here provide a space in which the location of women within prevailing cultural paradigms in Mexico and their role in the mapping of power in evolving textual canons may be interrogated. It is clear from the collection that interest in such issues is still alive and that the debate is far from over.
The Mexican Novel Comes of Age by Feminist Perspectives on Sor Juana Ines de la Cruz by 
The Willow and the Spiral: Essays on Octavio Paz and the Poetic Imagination by
Octavio Paz (Mexico, 1914-1998) was one of the foremost poets and essayists of the twentieth century. Read in translations into many of the world's languages, Paz received numerous awards and prizes during his lifetime, participated in major artistic and political movements of the twentieth century, served as Mexico's ambassador in India (1962-1968), and was the editor of Plural and Vuelta, two literary journals of prominent influence in Mexico, Latin America, and Spain. In 1990 Paz was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature. This book of essays is a commemoration of Octavio Paz on the first centenary of his birth, a celebration undertaken with Paz's distinguishing legacy: criticism, internationally inclusive, and open to differing viewpoints. The Willow and the Spiral: Essays on Octavio Paz and the Poetic Imagination contains studies in English and in Spanish by top-ranking Paz scholars from various continents and wide-ranging literary traditions, as well as by an emerging generation of critics who approach the work of Octavio Paz from diverse and recent theoretical methods. Specially written for this volume, the fourteen essays are in-depth studies of Paz's poetry and essays in relation to art, eroticism, literary history, politics, the art of translation, and to Paz's life-long reflections on world cultures and civilizations as represented by China, France, India, Japan, the United States and, among others, Mesoamerica. The essays range from new critical analyses of Piedra de sol (Sunstone) and Blanco, to studies of Renga, the haiku tradition and, among other topics, Marcel Duchamp and the literary Avant-Garde. This book will be of importance to Paz scholars, teachers, students, and the general reader interested in Octavio Paz and in topics related to artistic, literary, and cultural movements that shaped the twentieth century and that continue to inspire and steer artists and writers in the twenty-first century.
Toward Octavio Paz : A Reading of His Major Poems, 1957--1976 by
The undisputed intellectual leadership of Octavio Paz, not only in Mexico but throughout Spanish America, rests on achievements in the essay and in poetry. In the field of the essay, he is the author of more than twenty-five books on subjects whose diversity - esthetics, politics, surrealist art, the Mexican character, cultural anthropology, and Eastern philosophy, to cite only a few - is dazzling. In poetry, his creativity has increased in vigor over more than fifty years as he has explored the numerous possibilities open to Hispanic poets from many different sources. The bridge that joins the halves of his writing is a concern for language in general and for the poetic process in particular. Toward Octavio Paz defines this process of creation through a close examination of the books that represent the summit of the poet's development, three long poems and three collections. It is intended for readers of varied poetic experience who are approaching Paz's work for the first time. By studying the relationship of the parts of the poem, particularly structure and theme, Fein traces the poet's growth through approaches to the reader, each embodied in a separate work. From the divided circularity of Piedra de sol through the intensification of the subject of Salamandra, the multiple meanings of Blanco, the polarities of Ladera este, and the literary solipsism of Pasado en claro, to the silences of Vuelta, Paz has shaped his audience's responses to his work through suggestion rather than control. The result is not only a new poetry but a new receptivity.
La Escritura de Mujeres en Puerto Rico a Finales Del Siglo Xx y Principios Del Siglo Xxi by
The aim of the critical anthology La escritura de mujeres en Puerto Rico a fianles del Siglo XX y principios del XX!: Narradoras, cuentistas, cronistas, relatoras/Essays on Contemporaray Puerto Rican Writers is to discuss and expose the writings of Puerto Rican women writers within the context of the 20th century and 21st century literature of Puerto Rico and Latin America. The methodology applied by scholars to each author's writing/s is eclectic. Each scholar has utilized different theoretical approaches within the frame of distinct women literary voices. The anthology counts with a variety of writing and literary styles that set apart from traditional literary writings.
Isabel Allende by
"The biography sketches Isabel Allende from her childhood discovery of stories and characters that are later reflected in her writing. It also offers an analysis of Allende's literary works, her ideas on literature, on literary success, and the tragic death of her daughter Paula."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Roberto Bolaño's Fiction by
Since the publication of The Savage Detectives in 2007, the work of Roberto Bolaño (1953-2003) has achieved an acclaim rarely enjoyed by literature in translation. Chris Andrews, a leading translator of Bolaño's work into English, explores the singular achievements of the author's oeuvre, engaging with its distinct style and key thematic concerns, incorporating his novels and stories into the larger history of Latin American and global literary fiction. Andrews provides new readings and interpretations of Bolaño's novels, including 2666, The Savage Detectives, and By Night in Chile, while at the same time examining the ideas and narrative strategies that unify his work. He begins with a consideration of the reception of Bolaño's fiction in English translation, examining the reasons behind its popularity. Subsequent chapters explore aspects of Bolaño's fictional universe and the political, ethical, and aesthetic values that shape it. Bolaño emerges as the inventor of a prodigiously effective "fiction-making system," a subtle handler of suspense, a chronicler of aimlessness, a celebrator of courage, an anatomist of evil, and a proponent of youthful openness. Written in a clear and engaging style, Roberto Bolano's Fiction offers an invaluable understanding of one of the most important authors of the last thirty years.
La modernidad insufrible : Roberto Bolaño en los límites de la literatura latinoamericana contemporánea by
Has Chilean author Roberto Bolano (1953-2003) written the final word on Latin America's insufferable modernity? This investigation asserts that Bolano's novels, short stories, poetry and essays examine to a point of exhaustion the most important aspects of Latin America's modern literary tradition. Bolano's critique of modernity as a violent historical condition is a radical mode of literary articulation. With it, the current models of criticism--world literature, the global novel, postcolonial and transatlantic studies--are undermined, while the very notions of margin and center are ultimately disolved. Oswaldo Zavala contends that Bolano deliberately dismantles the symbolic capital of the Western literary tradition by generating a counterhegemonic horizon of meaning that arises from and defines Latin American writing. The book offers innovative readings of Distant Star, By Night in Chile, The Savage Detectives, Last Evenings on Earth and 2666, among other works. It ultimately demonstrates that Bolano transcends the neoliberal dream of a global consciousness by revealing the discontinuous, contingent and savage reality of our pernicious modernity. Bolano forges the most urgent critique of 21st century Latin American and Western literature alike.
García Márquez : The Man and His Work by
Gabriel Garcia Marquez is one of the most influential writers of our time, with a unique literary creativity rooted in the history of his native Colombia. This revised and expanded edition of a classic work is the first book of criticism to consider in detail the totality of Garcia Marquez's magnificent oeuvre. In a beautifully written examination, Gene Bell-Villada traces the major forces that have shaped the novelist and describes his life, his personality, and his politics. For this edition, Bell-Villada adds new chapters to cover all of Garcia Marquez's fiction since 1988, from The General in His Labyrinth through Memories of My Melancholy Whores, and includes sections on his memoir, Living to Tell the Tale, and his journalistic account, News of a Kidnapping. Moreover, new information about Garcia Marquez's biography and artistic development make this the most comprehensive account of his life and work available.
Living to Tell the Tale by
In this long-awaited first volume of a planned trilogy, the most acclaimed and revered living Nobel laureate begins to tell us the story of his life. Like all his work, Living to Tell the Tale is a magnificent piece of writing. It spans Gabriel García Márquez's life from his birth in 1927 through the start of his career as a writer to the moment in the 1950s when he proposed to the woman who would become his wife. It has the shape, the quality, and the vividness of a conversation with the reader--a tale of people, places, and events as they occur to him: the colorful stories of his eccentric family members; the great influence of his mother and maternal grandfather; his consuming career in journalism, and the friends and mentors who encouraged him; the myths and mysteries of his beloved Colombia; personal details, undisclosed until now, that would appear later, transmuted and transposed, in his fiction; and, above all, his fervent desire to become a writer. And, as in his fiction, the narrator here is an inspired observer of the physical world, able to make clear the emotions and passions that lie at the heart of a life--in this instance, his own. Living to Tell the Tale is a radiant, powerful, and beguiling memoir that gives us the formation of Gabriel García Márquez as a writer and as a man.
Postcolonial Ecologies by
This is the first edited collection to bring ecocritical studies into a necessary dialogue with postcolonial studies. By examining African, Caribbean, Pacific Island and South Asian literatures and how they depict the relationship between humans and nature, this book makes a compellingargument for a more global approach to thinking through our current environmental crisis. Turning to the contemporary production of postcolonial novelists and poets, this collection poses the literary imagination as a crucial to imagining what Eduoard Glissant calls the "aesthetics of the earth." The collection is organized around thematic concerns such as the relationship betweenculture and cultivation, arboriculture and deforestation, the lives of animals, and the relationship between the military and the tourist industry. The scholars collected here are at the forefront of the emergent field of postcolonial ecocriticism and this book will make a remarkable contribution torethinking the environment and its representation in the humanities.
Calypso Jews by
In original and insightful ways, Caribbean writers have turned to Jewish experiences of exodus and reinvention, from the Sephardim expelled from Iberia in the 1490s to the "Calypso Jews" who fled Europe for Trinidad in the 1930s. Examining these historical migrations through the lens of postwar Caribbean fiction and poetry, Sarah Phillips Casteel presents the first major study of representations of Jewishness in Caribbean literature. Bridging the gap between postcolonial and Jewish studies, Calypso Jews enriches cross-cultural investigations of Caribbean creolization. Caribbean writers invoke both the 1492 expulsion and the Holocaust as part of their literary archaeology of slavery and its legacies. Despite the unequal and sometimes fraught relations between Blacks and Jews in the Caribbean before and after emancipation, Black-Jewish literary encounters reflect sympathy and identification more than antagonism and competition. Providing an alternative to U.S.-based critical narratives of Black-Jewish relations, Casteel reads Derek Walcott, Maryse Condé, Michelle Cliff, Jamaica Kincaid, Caryl Phillips, David Dabydeen, and Paul Gilroy, among others, to reveal a distinctive interdiasporic literature.
Mexican Ballads, Chicano Poems by
Mexican Ballads, Chicano Poems combines literary theory with the personal engagement of a prominent Chicano scholar. Recalling his experiences as a student in Texas, José Limón examines the politically motivated Chicano poetry of the 60s and 70s. He bases his analyses on Harold Bloom's theories of literary influence but takes Bloom into the socio-political realm. Limón shows how Chicano poetry is nourished by the oral tradition of the Mexican corrido, or master ballad, which was a vital part of artistic and political life along the Mexican-U.S. border from 1890 to 1930. Limón's use of Bloom, as well as of Marxist critics Raymond Williams and Fredric Jameson, brings Chicano literature into the arena of contemporary literary theory. By focusing on an important but little-studied poetic tradition, his book challenges our ideas of the American canon and extends the reach of Hispanists and folklorists as well.
Entre las jarchas y Cernuda: constantes y variables en la poesía española by 
Literature of the Spanish People by
A paperback of Gerald Brenan's account of Spanish literature from Roman times to the present, which has won praise from every quarter for its original and enthusiastic approach, its wide-ranging scholarship and elegant style. First published in paperback in 1976, this book remains a useful study of Spanish literary history.
History of Spanish literature by
Spanish literature -- History and criticism.
Spanish Literature: A Very Short Introduction by
Spanish literature has given the world the figures of Don Quixote and Don Juan, and is responsible for the 'invention' of the novel in the 16th century. The medieval period produced literature in Castilian, Catalan, Galician, Latin, Arabic, and Hebrew, and today there is a flourishingliterature in Catalan, Galician, and Basque as well as in Castilian-the language that has became known as 'Spanish'. A multilayered history of exile has produced a transnational literary production, while writers in Spain have engaged with European cultural trends. This Very Short Introduction explores this rich literary history, which resonates with contemporary debates on transnationalism and cultural diversity. The book introduces a general readership to the ways in which Spanish literature has been read, in and outside Spain, explaining misconceptions,outlining the insights of recent scholarship and suggesting new readings. It highlights the precocious modernity of much early modern Spanish literature, and shows how the gap between modern ideas and social reality stimulated creative literary responses in subsequent periods; as well as howcontemporary writers have adjusted to Spain's recent accelerated modernization.
El Compromiso en la Poesía Española del Siglo XX by 
The Poetics of Speech in the Medieval Spanish Epic by
The Poetics of Speech in the Medieval Spanish Epic explores the composition of manuscript texts in thirteenth-century Spain. Of the vernacular epic poems originating with the minstrels of this era, only three full-length works remain: Cantar de Mio Cid, Poema de Fernán González, and Mocedades de Rodrigo, all preserved and recorded by members of the clergy. By analyzing expressive traits found in these three poems, Matthew Bailey links them to the cognitive processes that take place in the minds of speakers as narration unfolds. In Latin and other vernacular texts from the same period, authors identify their sources as oral, describe oral compositional techniques, and detail modes of processing texts in medieval monastic environments. Using the information provided by these details, as well as a close technical reading of the three epic poems, Bailey incorporates the methodologies and concepts of discourse analysis in an examination of expression in the Spanish epic and points convincingly to oral composition as the initial step in text creation for the period.
Poesía épica colonial del siglo XVI : historia, teoría y práctica by
Además de uno de los más amplios estudios sobre la poesía épica colonial del siglo XVI hasta ahora publicados, esta obra es una investigación sobre el estatuto ontológico de la épica dentro del discurso crítico, desde un enfoque que somete a revisión las ideas preconcebidas sobre este género en el discurso teórico de los estudios coloniales.
The Spanish Ballad in English by
This study offers an introduction to an important branch of Spanish literature - the romance, or ballad. Although a great many of these poems have been translated into English by various authors, they are not generally known nor easily accessible. Collected here for the first time in a single volume is a broad and representative sampling of romances in translation that encompasses historical ballads (including those about Spain's greatest folk hero, el Cid), Moorish ballads, and ballads of chivalry, love, and adventure. For the collection, Shasta M. Bryant has written a perceptive commentary and critique in which he discusses the individual poems and compares the translation with the original; both texts are presented to facilitate comparison. For those who wish to pursue their reading further there is an index of romances that have been translated into English, along with the names of the translators. Although the text has been written with the non-specialist in mind, this book will be equally valuable for students of comparative literature and of medieval Spain.
Historia y Bibliografía de la Crítica Sobre el Poema de Mío Cid (1750-1971) by
This book presents a chronological study of the critical and scholastic work on the Cid. It starts at the beginning of the Eighteenth-century with the rediscovery and the publication of the poem, and ends in 1971, just before the publication of one of the revolutionary modern editions of the text. The most impressive trait of this study is its exhaustiveness. It masterfully organizes a vast field of information in a comprehensive and accessible way. This volume is a very useful tool for any student of the Cid: from the novice to the most expert investigator.
Structures from the Trivium in the Cantar de Mio Cid by
This volume sheds new light on a central work in Spanish literature and on medieval poetry in general.
INSCRIBED POWER : Amulets and Magic in Early Spanish Literature by
In Inscribed Power, Ryan D. Giles explores the function of amuletic prayers, divine names, and incantation formulas that were inscribed and printed on parchment, paper and other media, and at the same time inserted into classic literary works in Spain.
A Critical and Annotated Edition of Lope de Vega's "Las Almas de Toro" by
The only play of Lope de Vega's involving the Cid and Sancho II, this work has long been admired by critics of the Golden Age drama for its vitality and poetic character. This edition brings to light new variants and passages missing in the known printed editions.
The Comic Spirit of Federico Garcia Lorca by 
Spanish Novelists by
Spanish Novelists is a single-volume reference that contains selected essays from Critical Survey of Long Fiction, Fourth Edition. The essays in Spanish Novelists discuss such influential writers as Juan Benet, Jos Camilo Cela, Miguel Delibes, and Miguel de Cervantes.
Spanish Poets by
Spanish Poets is a single-volume reference that contains selected essays from Critical Survey of Poetry, Fourth Edition. The essays in Spanish Poets discuss such influential poets as Rafael Alberti, Jorge Manrique, Pedro Salinas, and Cesar Vallejo.
