Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online science tools and databases
AlgaeBase is a database of information on algae that includes terrestrial, marine and freshwater organisms.
The BEN Portal provides access to educational resources from BEN Collaborators and is managed by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Over 19,290 reviewed resources covering 77 biological science topics are available.
Darwin Digital Library of Evolution
An online historical and textual edition of the manuscripts that document Charles Darwin's life's work as a scientist.
Encyclopedia of Life
EOL brings together trusted information from resources across the world such as museums, learned societies, expert scientists, and others into one database and single easy-to-use portal.
Essentials of Cell Biology
Published by Nature Publishing Group, this free, interactive ebook introduces readers to the core concepts of cell biology. Click the Library tab to view other nature and science eBooks in the collection.
Human Body Maps
BodyMaps is an interactive visual search tool that allows users to explore the human body in 3-D. With easy-to-use navigation, users can search multiple layers of the human anatomy, view systems and organs down to their smallest parts, and understand in detail how the human body works.
iBioSeminars.org was developed to bring the best biology to people throughout the world for free. iBioSeminars includes over 160 seminars and short talks by the world’s leading scientists. The collection includes 18 talks by Nobel Laureates and 77 talks by members of the National Academy of Sciences.
Scitable: Cell Biology
Scitable is a free science library and personal learning tool created by Nature Publishing Group. Cell biology resources include introductory summaries of key concepts, evidence-based readings on advanced topics, and more.
The Cell: An Image Library
A public repository of reviewed and annotated images, videos, and animations of cells from a variety of organisms, showcasing cell architecture, intracellular functionalities, and both normal and abnormal processes.
Tree of Life Project
The Tree of Life Web Project is a collection of information about biodiversity compiled collaboratively by hundreds of expert and amateur contributors. Its goal is to contain a page with pictures, text, and other information for every species and for each group of organisms, living or extinct.
United States Geological Survey: Biology Links
This Web site contains selected USGS educational resources that may be useful to educators at the college level. Most of the material on USGS Web sites is suitable for undergraduate-level use.
University of California Museum of Paleontology: Biology Glossary
The terms and in this glossary are important to practicing biologists and paleontologists in various fields.
ZygoteBody offers a zoomable, rotatable model of both the male and female human bodies. The models show several systems (muscle, skeletal, organ, cardiovascular, lymphatic, and nervous systems, and a basic skin layer.)