LibGuides: Research 101: Library Databases

Best Bets

These are some of the library's most recommended databases. For help with searching, scroll down to see some video tutorials, or check out the Brainstorming Keywords page of this guide.

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Now called Gale eBooks.
Multidisciplinary database of full text encyclopedias and reference sources for research and ready reference. Enables one search that covers all sources. Subjects include arts, sciences, medicine, and the humanities.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers hottest social issues, such as offshore drilling, climate change, health care, and immigration. Has full text, editor selected articles. Helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of information for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. The reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
General database of academic journals in the sciences and humanities. Includes full text scholarly / peer-reviewed articles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Publication Finder This link opens in a new window
Looking for a specific article you found through a citation or web search? Search CCC library electronic publications by title, subject or ISSN/ISBN and also browse publications by discipline.

E-Books

eBook Collection (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
Features a broad range of titles across a variety of disciplines.
ProQuest eBooks This link opens in a new window
Electronic books covering a wide variety of academic and professional subject areas.
Springer eBooks This link opens in a new window
Collection of 2200 full text medical e-books published by Springer from 2005-2010. These may be read online or downloaded. Some titles are in the library catalog and may be searched just like a print title.
This resource contains some paywalled ($) content. Be sure to uncheck the "Include Preview-Only content" box in the upper right corner of the database to exclude from your results.

Primary Sources

Primary source collections provide historical news and magazine articles as well as other historical documents, photographs, images, and letters.

African American Experience This link opens in a new window
The African American Experience is the widest ranging and easiest-to-use online database collection on African American history and culture.
American Indian Experience This link opens in a new window
The American Indian Experience is a digital resource that illuminates the histories and contemporary cultures of the Native peoples of North America.
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Provides approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the Black community from the earliest times to the present.
Harper's Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Historical archives of Harper's Weekly covering the years 1857-1912.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes a large collection of primary source documents, images, and serials. Use filters to choose primary source types, search images, or click on "Browse Collections" for individual collections.
Latino American Experience This link opens in a new window
This database is dedicated to the rich heritage and current culture of Latinos in the United States.
Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new window
Resources for pop culture research covering the early 1900s-2000s.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune‎ (1849 - 1998) This link opens in a new window
Historical Chicago Tribune content covering 1849-1998.
Women and Social Movements in the United States,1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender‎ (1909 - 2010) This link opens in a new window
Historical Chicago Defender content covering 1909-2010.

Research 101

Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librarian chat is available 7 days a week.

Schedule a 1-on-1 appointment with a librarian for research help!

Best Bets

These are some of the library's most recommended databases. For help with searching, scroll down to see some video tutorials, or check out the Brainstorming Keywords page of this guide.

E-Books

Primary Sources

A-Z list