Best Bets: Resources on this page have been selected for their relevance to Humanities 143 course assignments and content. For full access to the digital portals, have your CCC email account open.
 |
Latino American Experience | Dedicated to the rich heritage and current culture of Latinos in the United States. |
 |
Academic Search Complete | General database of academic journals in the sciences and humanities. Includes full text scholarly / peer-reviewed articles. |
 |
JSTOR | Provides full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. |
|
eBook Collection |
Features a broad range of titles across a variety of disciplines. |
Sovereign Acts: Performing Race, Space, and Belonging in Panama and the Canal Zone by
Sovereign Acts explores how artists, activists, and audiences performed and interpreted sovereignty struggles in the Panama Canal Zone, from the Canal Zone's inception in 1903 to its dissolution in 1999. In popular entertainments and patriotic pageants, opera concerts and national theatre, white U.S. citizens, West Indian laborers, and Panamanian artists and activists used performance as a way to assert their right to the Canal Zone and challenge the Zone's sovereignty, laying claim to the Zone's physical space and imagined terrain. By demonstrating the place of performance in the U.S. Empire's legal landscape, Katherine A. Zien transforms our understanding of U.S. imperialism and its aftermath in the Panama Canal Zone and the larger U.S.-Caribbean world.
U. S. Central Americans by
In summer 2014, a surge of unaccompanied child migrants from Central America to the United States gained mainstream visibility--yet migration from Central America has been happening for decades. U.S. Central Americans explores the shared yet distinctive experiences, histories, and cultures of 1.5-and second-generation Central Americans in the United States. While much has been written about U.S. and Central American military, economic, and political relations, this is the first book to articulate the rich and dynamic cultures, stories, and historical memories of Central American communities in the United States. Contributors to this anthology--often writing from their own experiences as members of this community--articulate U.S. Central Americans' unique identities as they also explore the contradictions found within this multivocal group. Working from within Guatemalan, Salvadoran, and Maya communities, contributors to this critical study engage histories and transnational memories of Central Americans in public and intimate spaces through ethnographic, in-depth, semistructured, qualitative interviews, as well as literary and cultural analysis. The volume's generational, spatial, urban, indigenous, women's, migrant, and public and cultural memory foci contribute to the development of U.S. Central American thought, theory, and methods. Woven throughout the analysis, migrants' own oral histories offer witness to the struggles of displacement, travel, navigation, and settlement of new terrain. This timely work addresses demographic changes both at universities and in cities throughout the United States. U.S. Central Americans draws connections to fields of study such as history, political science, anthropology, ethnic studies, sociology, cultural studies, and literature, as well as diaspora and border studies. The volume is also accessible in size, scope, and language to educators and community and service workers wanting to know about their U.S. Central American families, neighbors, friends, students, employees, and clients. Contributors: Leisy Abrego Karina O. Alvarado Maritza E. Cárdenas Alicia Ivonne Estrada Ester E. Hernández Floridalma Boj Lopez Steven Osuna Yajaira Padilla Ana Patricia Rodríguez
Understanding Latin America: A Decoding Guide by
From afar, Latin America looks like a blurry tableau: devoid of defining lines, particularities and nuances. Little is understood about the idiosyncrasies of Latin-Americans, their cultural identity and social values. Differences between Brazilians and Spanish Americans, or amid the diverse Spanish American countries, are not sufficiently understood. Even less is known about the amplitude of the Iberian heritage of such countries, or about the miscegenation and acculturation processes that took place among their different constitutive races. There is no clarity regarding the Western nature of Latin America or about its cultural affinities with Latin Europe. Nor is there sufficient understanding of the links between the Latin population of the United States and the inhabitants of Latin America.This book aims to fill the gap by focusing on Latin America's history, culture, identity and idiosyncrasies. It serves as a guide to understand regional attitudes, meanings and behavioural differences of the region. It also analyses the present economic situation of the region, while trying to predict the future of the region. Written in a simple and accessible manner, this book will be of interest to readers keen on exploring the region for potential opportunities in trade, investment or any other kind of business and cultural endeavor.
Exploitation, Inequality, and Resistance by
In this compelling text, authors Mark A. Burkholder, Lyman L. Johnson, and Monica A. Rankin tell the story of more than 500 years of Latin American history through the themes of exploitation, inequality, and resistance. Balancing an examination of different forms of exploitation withdiscussions of active and passive resistance, Exploitation, Inequality, and Resistance emphasizes these themes and analyzes the ways in which events throughout Latin America's history continue to resonate today.
Latin America in the Modern World by
Latin America in the Modern World covers all regions of Latin America and is the first text to situate modern Latin American history in a global context. While providing in-depth coverage of the history of the three largest Latin American countries - Mexico, Brazil, and Argentina - this textalso offers case studies from almost all of the countries and clearly identifies themes, topics, people, and intellectual currents that help to knit the history of modern Latin America into a coherent category of study.
New Migration Patterns in the Americas by
This volume investigates new migration patterns in the Americas addressing continuities and changes in existing population movements in the region. The book explores migration conditions and intersections across time and space relying on a multidisciplinary, collaborative approach that brings together the expertise of transnational scholars with diverse theoretical orientations, strengths, and methodological approaches. Some of the themes this edited volume explores include main features of contemporary migration in the Americas; causes, composition, and patterns of new migration flows; and state policies enacted to meet the challenges posed by new developments in migration flows.
