General database of academic journals in the sciences and humanities. Includes full text scholarly / peer-reviewed articles. This database is a great starting point for general research.
CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. The reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked.
Provides full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
You can get more targeted search results in your computer searches by using the three Boolean operators, AND, OR, and NOT.
Infographic courtesy Slippery Rock University, https://sru.libguides.com/english/librarybasics/booleanoperators
Obituaries make for an excellent source for biographic information. Moreover, a good obituary can also function like a good memorial speech. The following news media and newspaper databases contain options for looking for obituaries.
In the following ProQuest databases, you can limit your search to obituaries by clicking on "Advanced Search," and then under "Document Type on the bottom left, scrolling down and selecting "Obituary."
A list of ProQuest databases subscribed to by CCC.
Philadelphia Daily News journalist Jim Nicholson (d. 2019) was known known as "the obituary writer of the common man." In his 1987 interview with NPR's Terry Gross, Nicholson offers insight on how to bring poetic dignity to people of all backgrounds.
Citing an Obituary: See APA's Newspaper and website guidelines.
Pareles, J., C. Ganz, and J. Jones. (2016, January 12). David Bowie, Star Who Fame Transcended Music, Dies at 69. The New York Times, p. A24.
Pareles, J., C. Ganz, and J. Jones. (2016, January 12). David Bowie, Star Who Fame Transcended Music, Dies at 69. The New York Times. Retireved from https://www.proquest.com/newspapers/david-bowie-star-whose-fame-transcended-music/docview/1755718929/se-2
The preferred citation style for this course is APA (American Psychological Association). The resources below can help you learn how to format your citations.
This work © 2024 by Richard J. Daley College Library is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 
